Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
314 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Concerning the FAQ and Njal, it says his first three abilities don't work if the SWs player goes second. Why? How does this affect your roll on a D3?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,934 Posts
You've misunderstood the FAQ Raptor- it means that if the SW player goes second then Driving Gale and Living Hurricane don't work because they only effect the enemy in that Game Turn (i.e both player's turn)- but since you'd be going 2nd they won't have any efffect because they'd be gone by the time it came for your opponent to have his next turn (next player AND game turn).

Example:

Driving Gale/Living Hurricane is in play on Turn 2, but the SW has gone 2nd so the opponent won't be shooting or moving anyway. By Turn 3 the powers have gone...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,976 Posts
Concerning the FAQ and Njal, it says his first three abilities don't work if the SWs player goes second. Why? How does this affect your roll on a D3?
It doesn't affect your D3 roll, it's just that, because of the wording of them, they won't affect the enemy if you go second, because it's too late. I don't have the SW rule book, but that's my understanding of the matter.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
314 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Oh, that can make sense, still another freaking stupid faq from GW, but what'd you expect? Oh, well I can't complain, I've still got thunderwolves :crazy:
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,719 Posts
No, it isn't the FAQ that's stupid, it's the Njal rules themselves. It specifies that it works "for the rest of the game turn" but only works for the enemy phases. Sounds like someone didn't think how useless that is when going second. Although you get what you get for paying 240+ points for a model with only 2 wounds!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
123 Posts
No, it isn't the FAQ that's stupid, it's the Njal rules themselves. It specifies that it works "for the rest of the game turn" but only works for the enemy phases. Sounds like someone didn't think how useless that is when going second. Although you get what you get for paying 240+ points for a model with only 2 wounds!
Ya I was surprised when the faq chose that solution, the guys already extremely expensive and now 2 of his effects work in only 50% of your games.

They say its because the Space Wolf Player should be aggressive and take turn 1, but even if you do there's still a 1/6 chance that initiative will be stolen.:headbutt:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
314 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Here is a slightly off topic post for anyone wanting to use him. Just putting that out there.
 
1 - 8 of 8 Posts
Top