Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
309 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay there were 3 things that came up for me.
Basicly succesfully casting the lore of shadows allows you to switch places with the caster and a different hero/lord so the three things I want to know is...

1) Can a sorcerer who is in combat switch places out of combat with another character. And does a daemonic mount count as a ridden monster or just normal cavalry since they have to be the same troop type to swap

2) If a chosen champion has the book of secret arts and casts a shadow spell, does the lore attribute affect him (I'm guessing not since he is a unit champion and not a character just making sure)

3) If call to glory is cast on a unit champion can that champion then switch places with a sorcer who succesfully casts a shadow spell, cause call to glory effectivly changes the champion into an exalted hero, who now considered a character is by the rules of the shadow lore able to switch places.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,247 Posts
Okay there were 3 things that came up for me.
Basicly succesfully casting the lore of shadows allows you to switch places with the caster and a different hero/lord so the three things I want to know is...

1) Can a sorcerer who is in combat switch places out of combat with another character. And does a daemonic mount count as a ridden monster or just normal cavalry since they have to be the same troop type to swap
Yes. As for the second part, it should be defined in the rulebook, the unit type would be what the mount is.

2) If a chosen champion has the book of secret arts and casts a shadow spell, does the lore attribute affect him (I'm guessing not since he is a unit champion and not a character just making sure)
He would actually be able to switch I believe. It is not him who has to be a character, but the person he switches with.

3) If call to glory is cast on a unit champion can that champion then switch places with a sorcer who succesfully casts a shadow spell, cause call to glory effectivly changes the champion into an exalted hero, who now considered a character is by the rules of the shadow lore able to switch places.
And finally, for the third question, yes. He is now a character model.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
324 Posts
Have to disagree with the jackal on #2. Unit champions can never leave their units under ant circumstances. Which would tend to make me believe that #3 would also be not allowed either, unless you plan on boomeranging your champion back to his unit if Call to Glory is dispelled. Easier to pull a Betty Ford and "Just say No!"
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,247 Posts
Have to disagree with the jackal on #2. Unit champions can never leave their units under ant circumstances. Which would tend to make me believe that #3 would also be not allowed either, unless you plan on boomeranging your champion back to his unit if Call to Glory is dispelled. Easier to pull a Betty Ford and "Just say No!"
Hmm, if there is a rule in the BRB that says you can't have the champion leave, then yes, you would be correct Durzod. Sorry, Karnox. :laugh:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,375 Posts
Read the spell rules - a single model may be removed from play and replaced with an exalted champion - do it to a champion of a unit - he no longer counts as a champion since the champion is technically DEAD!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,247 Posts
Read the spell rules - a single model may be removed from play and replaced with an exalted champion - do it to a champion of a unit - he no longer counts as a champion since the champion is technically DEAD!
It is however, a remains-in-play spell, meaning he can turn back into a champion later. :/
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
8,559 Posts
It is however, a remains-in-play spell, meaning he can turn back into a champion later. :/
Not so, The FAQ saith:

Q. What happens when Call to Glory is dispelled/ends after it has
been cast? (p108)
A. The model disappears. This does not count as killing the
Exalted Hero and does not award the extra 100 victory points.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,247 Posts
Not so, The FAQ saith:

Q. What happens when Call to Glory is dispelled/ends after it has
been cast? (p108)
A. The model disappears. This does not count as killing the
Exalted Hero and does not award the extra 100 victory points.
:shok: Wut? That was really their solution? I guess it makes sense from a rules perspective, but it makes no sense otherwise.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,190 Posts
Also note that it says "Rank and File model" so you cannot turn any of the command group into an Exalted Hero.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,190 Posts
People were talking about swapping the champion so that he could leave the unit... or something. :shrug:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,083 Posts
i think the champ was more to someone having a book of shadows, im assuming a chosen champion to switch into a squad of warriors kind of instance.

as for call to glory, I dont see ANYTHING that would prevent it. since the unit is now an exhalted hero, if at any time it gest dispelled afterwords it becomes mist with no 100 points so.
 
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
Top