Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
242 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
K so I have a couple of questions about how some things affect Lizardmen in 8th ed.

1. When you give Saurus spears do the they get 2 ranks with 2 attacks and 1 with 1 or 2 with 1 and 1 with 2? It says that supporting ranks can only get 1 attacks unless they are larger like ogres. Does this apply to spears or do they still get 2 attacks from the second rank with spears?

2. Does the Carnosaur get the Thunderstomp attacks or just a Stomp attack?

If you guys could help me with this it would be great.
Thanks
Muffinman
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
312 Posts
K so I have a couple of questions about how some things affect Lizardmen in 8th ed.

1. When you give Saurus spears do the they get 2 ranks with 2 attacks and 1 with 1 or 2 with 1 and 1 with 2? It says that supporting ranks can only get 1 attacks unless they are larger like ogres. Does this apply to spears or do they still get 2 attacks from the second rank with spears?

This is still in debate. The general consensus is that it works like this:

2222222222
1111111111
1111111111

First row gets 2, the second row gets 1. The third row gets the supporting attack. As the rule reads for spears, it seems to me that it should go like this:

2222222222
2222222222
1111111111
1111111111

In this situation, the first two ranks get full attacks, the third and fourth rank get supporting attacks (fourth because the rank is 10 wide).

Basically, we will have to wait until the errata are released next week (I think) to see for sure.

2. Does the Carnosaur get the Thunderstomp attacks or just a Stomp attack?
The Carnosaur is considered a monster, so it does get the thunderstomp attack (stegadon as well).
Hope this helped!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
So now that the rules are released, what does it seem will happen with the above setup?

2222222222
2222222222
1111111111
1111111111

? I hope so....
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
312 Posts
Now it is like this:

222222<--Fixed that. My mistake.
111111
111111

It sucks, but that is the way it is. With a horde, you would get an additional rank of 1 attack each.

Carnosaur does get the thunderstomp attack. And, on top of that, the ultimate predator rule turns those wounds into d3 wounds.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
325 Posts
For me it's like this(I'm using 5x4 formation spear saurus)

22222
22222
11111
00000

Since it says: models with spears can attack in an extra rank.
Not: Models with spears can make an additional supporting attack.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
312 Posts
This has been an arguing point since 8th has come out. I agree that this should be the way it works. I do not think the general consensus supports that though. This really needs to be clarified in the faq.

The-Graven: What pages in the rule book are you basing that on? Is it the spear weapons description? If so, the supporting attacks rule seems to cancel that out (this is why I think it needs to be in the faq). If you can give me fuel for that fire, I will argue this with my opponents. I would love to have those attacks for 8th.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,166 Posts
No need, the new book clarifies that attacks not from the front rank are supporting, and therefore get 1 attack. Now, I haven't seen anything about Lizards having the "fight in additional ranks" FAQ'd onto them.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
I'm asking specifically about a block of saurus with spears and a shield, 4 ranks with 10 file (so they get the fight in 3 ranks rule) and then spears would add an extra rank.

All four ranks would fight if you had spears and 10 file wide, right?

2222222222 <-----base attacks
1111111111 <-----horde rule
1111111111 <-----horde rule
1111111111 <-----+1 rank for spears

that's how i think it would work
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
I'm asking specifically about a block of saurus with spears and a shield, 4 ranks with 10 file (so they get the fight in 3 ranks rule) and then spears would add an extra rank.

All four ranks would fight if you had spears and 10 file wide, right?

2222222222 <-----base attacks
1111111111 <-----horde rule
1111111111 <-----horde rule
1111111111 <-----+1 rank for spears

that's how i think it would work
I didn't really want to edit this, because it could potentially be right, but the more I think about it, it should be:

2222222222 <------base attacks
2222222222 <------spear (fight with two ranks
1111111111 <------horde rule (10 wide)
1111111111 <------horde rule (10 wide)

You would get 2 attacks on the second rank because of spears (where you get full attacks), but would the horde rule add both the back ranks?
i.e. compound with the spear rule?
Horde rule means you fight in three ranks (2 extra ranks behind the front), which should come into play AFTER the spear rule, right? That would only make sense to me...

Hopefully you can follow all of this, I'm kinda rambling....
 
1 - 13 of 13 Posts
Top