Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been playing for a week (after 6 years away from the game) and I need a little help with the LotD.

I remembered these guys from the fluff, but was thrilled to see they're actual units now.

Just acquired 10 of these guys... are they worth the 300+ points?
How does their Deep Strike work (just like a reserve unit?)?
and what is the best (holistically speaking) deployment tactic for these dudes?

·
Registered
1,282 Posts
Unfortunately not being a marine player means that I can't give you much advice other that saying the I don't think that they really are worth the points. The fact that I have never actually seen them in a non-white dwarf army list would lead me to believe that I am correct. That of course does not mean that you should not use them, just that they won't win you competitions.

·
Registered
164 Posts
lol, not really so, i remeber having my GK decimated in close combat by these guys with sterm and his termes having to come to the rescue, at the time we could not grasp the rules for these guys very well. That single squad at the right time turned my win to a draw. But the case stands that they can be a pain to kill and becasue they can outflank with ease they can decide the outcome and if used well.

·
Ancient Relic
2,430 Posts
I find that the lotd are best in larger games, but they are awesome in ges of planetstrike, for the reason that they can move ( slow and purposeful) and cleanse an objective with their heavy flamer and bolters and then cpature the objective. their major bonus in these games is their deep strike rule, allowing them to deep strike in, shoot and them assault the objective. Even if they weren't that good, they are awesome models and will make your army really characterful, so use them anyway. Put up some pics when you get them painted.

·
Registered
2,979 Posts