Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
8,565 Posts
...only 3 can shoot due to LOS, unless you modify the model....
To put the counter argument, everyone I have played against (tournaments as well as friendlies) agrees vehicles do not block LOS for themselves, so a target on the centre line is in LOS for everything.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
8,565 Posts
...there's a picture of the blind spot in the actual rulebook (pg59) for sponsons....
Both sponson pictures show that the arc tends toward the middle, so there will be a blind spot right in front to the tank, but it will resolve at some distance. As the sponsons are mounted at different points then the resolving point for each pair is different.

It could even be argued that after the point at which the arcs meet in the middle both sides get to shoot at everything in a cone forward from there.

...you can still only fire all your weapons at targets directly infront of you, 1 Lascannon and 1 TL-Lascannon will always be on the the wrong side if your target is off centre....
I agree; if no part of the target is on the centre line then one side probably lacks LoS.

My point was that you cannot say that getting LoS from more than 3, of necessity, requires you to convert the vehicle with the intent of gaining an unfair advantage.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
8,565 Posts
...well thats a house rule, you draw LOS from a weapon mounting down the barrel of the weapon, not in a central line....
I am not arguing that vehicles draw line of sight along the barrel; I have previously stated that there is a blind spot because the weapon cannot rotate past the nose of the vehicle.

I can however draw a line from the barrel of all five sponsons to a point on the centre line beyond the minimum arc of the rear sponsons.

...assemble it as it is supposed to be assembled the Twin-Linked Lascannon sponsons at the back cannot fire forwards at all, the single lascannon sponson in front of it is in the way. It can fire off to the side fine but cannot fire either TL Lascannon straight forward.
To clarify, my remark about not blocking it's own line of sight was a counter to the suggestion that the front sponson occludes the rear sponson preventing a five weapon alignment to a target directly ahead.

They arc together in that picture because it's a Predator.
The rules indicate that, when deciding if a vehicle weapon has line of sight, you treat it as if it could move the full arc possible even if it could not because it has been glued. As, without any attempt to remodel them, LR sponsons can swivel to face inwards they have an analogous arc.

Unless there is a rule of which I am not aware, LoS for vehicles is that same as LoS for other units with the addition of limitations based on the arc of the mounting. I could therefore argue that it is a house rule that the front sponson blocks the LoS of the rear as it goes against the general rule that a unit does not occlude itself. however, I believe that both are reasonable answers provided everyone agrees before the game whether or not parts of vehicles occlude themselves.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
8,565 Posts
On the Terminus Ultra the rear sponsons cannot be aimed forwards, even if you attach them so they can move....
I do not own one myself, so I will accept the standard configuration (within the "Do whatever you all agree is cool" meaning of the term for Apocalypse) does not actually fit. The only one I have ever studied they fitted, so obviously it can be done with a functionally undetectable change to the assembly.

There is a rule for it pg59 of the rulebook. You move the guns around in an arc as far as they can got, not just 180....

The BRB is very clear that vehicles do occlude themselves.... and weapon mounting determine fire arcs. See the Leman Russ Sponsons which cannot fire behind itself as the gun do not point that way....
Page 59 refers to determining a sponson's LoS by "...shape and position....". Having reread the rules, I cannot see any statement beyond that indicating that vehicles occlude themselves.

Shape: the diagrams then show the fire arcs for guns mounted in a right angle box and on a 180+ pivot. There is no statement either way on whether the diagrams are specific examples or the two possible options for sponson mounts. I can therefore validly interpret the rules as showing a closed set of possibilities.

Position: the diagrams show that the arc terminates at the corner of the vehicles; the distance between the front of the vehicle and the pivot will determine how far ahead of the vehicle the blind area ends.

Unless I have missed an official clarification, there is nothing specifically stated in RAW to say that the arc of a weapon that is not in a right-angle mount is confined by anything other than the corners of the vehicle.

Given that Terminus are not awesome with the ability to fire all weapons on a centre line target, they are not on my buy list anyway.
 
1 - 4 of 4 Posts
Top