Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

Jump Infantry charging into Difficult Terrain?

2358 Views 9 Replies 6 Participants Last post by  MidnightSun
Do they take the Initiative penalty or not? I was certain they did, but I checked it earlier today and now I'm less confident. If you use your Jump ability in the Assault Phase rather than the movement phase, you explicitly benefit from the 'Skyborne' rule (the rule that allows Jump Infantry to move over terrain and other models). As far as I can tell, if you use your Jump move in the assault phase and charge into difficult terrain, you take Dangerous Terrain if you land in terrain but you otherwise ignore the terrain including the Initiative penalty (as you are not charging through terrain, you are charging over it).

If so, then the obvious result is that Wraithknights don't go down to I1 for going through cover, but I'm sure there are other jump units that benefit from this.
1 - 1 of 10 Posts
Interesting point being made here. Not 100% sure what the rules say so won't do a comment to swimg it either way.
I guess the problem is what type of dangerous terrain it is. To go back to a classic example of what could be dangerous, you could have a long spiked barricade or minefield , but if you had the jump packs just hover over and attack down with needing to land it might have no effect. But if the defending unit was set up in something like a field of longspikes (basically pikes that are buried in the ground with a small amount of room between for defenders but much taller than those hiding in there) then the jump packs would have to actively negotiate there way in to attack, thus losing a bit of time.
1 - 1 of 10 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.