Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

Jump Infantry charging into Difficult Terrain?

2355 Views 9 Replies 6 Participants Last post by  MidnightSun
Do they take the Initiative penalty or not? I was certain they did, but I checked it earlier today and now I'm less confident. If you use your Jump ability in the Assault Phase rather than the movement phase, you explicitly benefit from the 'Skyborne' rule (the rule that allows Jump Infantry to move over terrain and other models). As far as I can tell, if you use your Jump move in the assault phase and charge into difficult terrain, you take Dangerous Terrain if you land in terrain but you otherwise ignore the terrain including the Initiative penalty (as you are not charging through terrain, you are charging over it).

If so, then the obvious result is that Wraithknights don't go down to I1 for going through cover, but I'm sure there are other jump units that benefit from this.
1 - 2 of 10 Posts
I see your point @MidnightSun. The rule states that you 'pass freely over all terrain' so long as you're using your Jump Pack and includes charging in the list of things this applies to. I don't think it's right, but maybe @Vaz can explain more as to why if you're freely moving over something negative modifiers still apply?
I think this seals it. Models charging through terrain fight at I1 despite any modifiers even if the charging unit is not slowed by Difficult Terrain (pg.47 BRB). Despite our Jump troops not being slowed by Terrain they do indeed fight at I1. Still pretty cool if you ask me, though with the re-roll for using your packs in the Assault phase you were probably making it in before ignoring the -2" charge modifier.

EDIT: major con obviously being you can lose models to gain HoW and a better charge range, which can be crappy if your dice are jerks.
1 - 2 of 10 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.