Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

Jump Infantry charging into Difficult Terrain?

2358 Views 9 Replies 6 Participants Last post by  MidnightSun
Do they take the Initiative penalty or not? I was certain they did, but I checked it earlier today and now I'm less confident. If you use your Jump ability in the Assault Phase rather than the movement phase, you explicitly benefit from the 'Skyborne' rule (the rule that allows Jump Infantry to move over terrain and other models). As far as I can tell, if you use your Jump move in the assault phase and charge into difficult terrain, you take Dangerous Terrain if you land in terrain but you otherwise ignore the terrain including the Initiative penalty (as you are not charging through terrain, you are charging over it).

If so, then the obvious result is that Wraithknights don't go down to I1 for going through cover, but I'm sure there are other jump units that benefit from this.
1 - 4 of 10 Posts
The model doesn't go through the difficult terrain, which is what causes the initiative penalty, because it moves over all terrain freely. It just appears in base to base contact all of a sudden, which is silly when I say it but does make sense from a fluff perspective (yes, yes, rules =/= fluff).
I think that's sensible, but you don't go through the terrain - you just kinda end up standing on it, much like Jump Infantry in the movement phase.

I didn't know that you took Dangerous Terrain if you used your Jump Packs to charge a unit in whatever area terrain is called now though, that's neat.
Thanks for the input Heretics :eek:k:
1 - 4 of 10 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.