Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

Jump Infantry charging into Difficult Terrain?

2355 Views 9 Replies 6 Participants Last post by  MidnightSun
Do they take the Initiative penalty or not? I was certain they did, but I checked it earlier today and now I'm less confident. If you use your Jump ability in the Assault Phase rather than the movement phase, you explicitly benefit from the 'Skyborne' rule (the rule that allows Jump Infantry to move over terrain and other models). As far as I can tell, if you use your Jump move in the assault phase and charge into difficult terrain, you take Dangerous Terrain if you land in terrain but you otherwise ignore the terrain including the Initiative penalty (as you are not charging through terrain, you are charging over it).

If so, then the obvious result is that Wraithknights don't go down to I1 for going through cover, but I'm sure there are other jump units that benefit from this.
1 - 1 of 10 Posts
If your charging a unit that is in terrain you would end up in the terrain - so negative results of charging into terrain. However it seems that you do not have any negative on the charge modifier.


Also charging into terrain, if you lack grenades (I assume that this works the same still) you should still suffer the I penalty, as far as I can tell...
1 - 1 of 10 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.