Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
668 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been trying out the Mont'ka Drone Net formation in my lists recently, lot of special rules added to it but the important one here is jink. As I read it, I would jink the drones before shots are taken and can still go to ground after all hits/wounds are done, so they benefit from a 3+ cover save.

To my knowledge this is the only unit that has jink that can also go to ground, as other units with it are usually bikes/jetbikes and vehicles, so it does seem a bit cheesy.

Anyone got any thoughts on it?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
129 Posts
Looks very valid. Jink is a double edged sword at the end of the day, and going to ground makes you even closer to useless than jink does.

It's an interesting option to have, but it's hell of a reduction in capabilites for the sake of survival. Personally I'd just stick with jink.

Not cheesy at all imho, just unexpected. Considering Tau have access to 3+ jinking transports, jinking drones shouldn't really upset anybody.

(It's also got nothing on 2+ Re-rollable jink saves, HI RAVEN WING).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
668 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yeah, the way I run them as speed bumps it's not too much of a problem losing movement.

Though they often have to make use of their interceptor in the preceding players turn so may stick with just the jink there, not being able to do anything is a bit of a waste.

Yeah not so much cheesy, more not RAI. Running all suits means I haven't made much use of the jinking transports...though 2+ Jinking Barracuda is fun.

Yeah that 2+ cover save is why I am glad the wall of mirrors with the ghostkeel exists.
 

·
The Emperor Protects
Joined
·
5,262 Posts
I've been trying out the Mont'ka Drone Net formation in my lists recently, lot of special rules added to it but the important one here is jink. As I read it, I would jink the drones before shots are taken and can still go to ground after all hits/wounds are done, so they benefit from a 3+ cover save.

To my knowledge this is the only unit that has jink that can also go to ground, as other units with it are usually bikes/jetbikes and vehicles, so it does seem a bit cheesy.

Anyone got any thoughts on it?
For an update dude, the new FAQ says no, you cannot do that.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
668 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Yeah just read that last night. Glad they cleared that one up for me. Best news for me was my suits now get to overwatch with two guns. :biggrin:
 
1 - 5 of 5 Posts
Top