Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
466 Posts
if its for friendly play yes it can be a formidable list and isnt considered as cheese only problem is first few games will be lengthy there on hell get quicker at playing but still not as quick as say a full mech force or the more smaller armies (marines and such).

so if he dont mind moving lots of models and having an army that will exceed tournament play time yet can easily be competitive yes if he wants an army thats quick then i would recommend a full battlewagon list or killa kan deff dreads list to lesser the amount of orks.

·
4,491 Posts
I started playing with the green tide, but got sick of moving 200 models in a 1500 point game.
The tide is more effective with Killa Kanz backed up by KFF Meks screening the squads of 30 Boyz.

·
Registered
221 Posts
yes yes yes, true tides are even more devastating than mostly tides.

Put simply, if you can be bothered with longer games due to model movement alone then yes, and they are awesomely powerful lists.

As an interest point, i played both of my green tide armies this weekend (in 1500)

Both lists here: http://www.heresy-online.net/forums/showthread.php?t=66150

They rocked the socks off everyone they came up against, Including a basilisk heavy IG army. They just could not get enough shots off to kill 180 orks. It was a sight to behold.

The biggest problem I have found is deployment. I almost didn't have enough room for them on the table. I would suggest though, at a tournament, people would have a hard time facing you.

----

Additional: There are 2 ways to run a green tide.

1. Kan wall,, full army + 9 Kanz with rokkits or grotzookaz

2. full tide, like the lists above.

Unfortunately no other way (I have seen, or played with) works on a largely competitive level

·
Registered
466 Posts