Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
109 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm still a bit confused on how Invulnerable saves work, in the book it states that they can be taken if a model takes a normal wound. I'm saying that I can use it whenever a model fails an armor save, however my friends say you use it for AP weapons, instant death, etc (anything that removes a normal save). Can someone clear this up please?

Thanks in advance.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,132 Posts
You only ever get to make one save (expect for FNP).

Edit:

Now says your chaplain has a 3+ armour save and a 5+ invu save. If I shot him with a melta gun that armour save isn't going to protect you but that Invu will. So in this case you make an Invu save since a melta gun ignores your armour (since it's ap is equal to or less then your armour).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,976 Posts
I'm still a bit confused on how Invulnerable saves work, in the book it states that they can be taken if a model takes a normal wound. I'm saying that I can use it whenever a model fails an armor save, however my friends say you use it for AP weapons, instant death, etc (anything that removes a normal save). Can someone clear this up please?

Thanks in advance.
Your friend has it right in this case. There are three types of normal save - an amour save, a cover save and an invulnerable save. You can only take one save, no matter how many types of save you have. Check out P24 of the rule book - "Models with more than one save".

There are some special rules that allow another roll to ignore the wound, but these aren't generally referred to as saves. Things like Feel No Pain, or the necrons We'll Be Back rules fit in to this category.

Hope that helps :)

[Edit: Ninja'd by Necrosis :p]
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
109 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Ok thanks for the feedback, by Instant death I meant like strengths that are higher than toughnesses. Would you still get an invulnerable save from that? Also things like power weapons that give you instant wounds. Inv save or not?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,132 Posts
Instant death does not ignore armour. Powerfist do ignore armour cause they are a power weapon. You get an invu save against everything unless the specifically tell you that you don't (psy-cannons, war scythe).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,976 Posts
Ok thanks for the feedback, by Instant death I meant like strengths that are higher than toughnesses. Would you still get an invulnerable save from that? Also things like power weapons that give you instant wounds. Inv save or not?
Instant death (where the strength of a hit is twice or more the toughness of the target) doesn't deny any saves, in and of itself. If a terminator character (2+ save) got hit by a Krak Missile (St. 8, AP3), which causes instant death, he would still get a 2+ armour save against it. Basically, the only effect the Instant Death rule has is on models with more than one wound, where models that fail their save lose all their wounds. In the example above, if the character then failed his save, he would be slain outright, even if he had 3 wounds normally.

As for Invulnerable saves, they can be taken against almost anything. There are only a few examples where you cannot take an invulnerable save - and those are special rules for particular units.

They include a Callidus Assassin (with her phase knife), C'tan and necron models with a War scythe, and Demon Hunters models with certain special ammo and equipment. There might be one or two others I've missed as well, but over all the ability to ignore invulnerable saves is very very rare. This is what makes invulnerable saves so good, lots of things ignore armour, almost nothing in most armies ignores an invulnerable save.

Basically, for the most part, and invulnerable save is simply a save that you'll always get, not taken away by particular situations or common weapons like armour or cover saves.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
496 Posts
I'm saying that I can use it whenever a model fails an armor save
-points to warhammer fantasy-
not 40k :3

Fantasy you can take Armor then Ward then Regen save (though Armor works alot differently in that game)

we only wish that termies got a 2+ then a 5+ save... but thats not the case
x3

ya gotta be careful with rule translations like that
 
1 - 9 of 9 Posts
Top