Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
229 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I understand that Genestealers and Biovores, with their brood synapse, don't need synapse. But I recently read on here that Carnifex' don't either because they're fearless.

But that's not true.

Without Synapse there are only a few options, moving, lurking, and going for nearest synapse.

So how does the Carnifex operate solo?

Maybe I'm misunderstanding instincts.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16 Posts
Carnifex, although Fearless, are subject to IB. That one was asked enough that it was clarified in the GW FAQ, still available on the main GW site...

The Instinctive Behaviour process is pretty clear(p.28 of the codex). If you are outside of synapse and not in combat or already falling back you have a choice: make a LD test or Lurk. If you pass the LD test, do anything you want, including moving and charging. If you fail the LD, you must fall back towards synapse or your board edge if none left.
 

·
Porn King!!!
Joined
·
8,137 Posts
With a LD of 10 however, the chances of failing the IB test are fairly slim. Many people do assume that a Fearless monstrous creature doesn't have to roll for it and get bent a bit when you point it out to them.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
804 Posts
With a LD of 10 however, the chances of failing the IB test are fairly slim. Many people do assume that a Fearless monstrous creature doesn't have to roll for it and get bent a bit when you point it out to them.
Yeah i agree with you there wraith, ive done it before, man did the person become an arse... so i just stopped pointing it out, not worth ruining the game making the person go sour
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
804 Posts
you can have him lurk like any other synapse dependant creature, but yeah LD10 its gonna be hard for him to fail
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16 Posts
So if he passes his LD test, he can act as normal?
I can have him shoot, or move, or fleet, or charge?
If he fails then he falls to synapse?
Or I can have him just lurk?
Well, if he could fleet in the first place, then yes. (Mmmm, fleeting carnifex, that would be sweet!)
You choose to move etc or alternatively lurk. If you choose to lurk, well, that's it, it lurks, and no longer counts as scoring. If you want to act as normal and do not want to lurk, then yup, make that easy LD roll and do whatever you want. Fail, and fall back (as per p.48 of the main rulebook) to the Hive Mind.
 
1 - 9 of 9 Posts
Top