Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi. My name's Lianne, I'm from Cardiff, UK and I just started with 40K (been playing MechWarrior ish for over a year, but mostly a roleplayer).

I played my first game using a borrowed Imperial Guard army from my friend against the same friend stealing *his* friends Chaos Space Marines army (mildly complicated, I know) a couple of months ago. I won and was instantly hooked.

I was not, however, hooked onto Guard. Nope, I decided I liked the mighty, spiky chaosy goodness of those little plastic spacement instead. I've had a copy of 1st Ed. WFRP for years so I already knew about the Chaos Gods and had decided before that they were pretty cool and that Slaanesh and Nurgle were my favourites (and that, forgive me, Khorne is *really* boring).

Plus, I've been playing Dark Heresy for about six months now and had come to realise that the Imperium of Man really is a very, very horrible place and is mostly made up of things I hate (authoritarianism being the foremost). I like my liberty goddammit and in a weird not-really kinda way, Chaos offers it (or at least more of it than the Imperium does).

So yeah, I decided to go for Slaanesh/Nurgle flavoured CSMs. Y'know, the old STD combo. :p

I've got very few models so far as I'm buying them piecemeal on the cheap. So far just four basecoated Noise Marines I picked up for £8 (two blastmasters, two sonic blasters, no sellout bolters here), about 8 CSMs (part pre-fabbed, part sprue and one with a Slaaneshi head, yay!) and a Dreadnought I picked up for £11 (all I had to do was strip some minor painting). All from my local FLGS. I’m going to get a Battleforce from the same place in the next fortnight (and sell the Zerkers off to my friend General) because they’re so much cheaper than GW.