Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
12,830 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just picked this up in the latest 7th edition FAQ

http://www.games-workshop.com/resources/PDF/Errata/Warhammer_40000/Warhammer_40000_Rules_EN.pdf

"An Independent Character without the infiltrate special rule cannot join a unit of Infiltrators during deployment, and vice versa".

What this means now is that IC's with Infiltrate must deploy seperately, regardless of whether or not they use the rule for Infiltrate. While they can (i think) join units during the move on from Reserves, or mount vehicles, surely it would have been easier to say that only units entirely composed of models with the Infiltrate special rule may deploy in that manner?



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3
 

·
Rattlehead
Joined
·
6,741 Posts
Technically, yes, a character with Infiltrate can only deploy with Infiltrators whether they're doing their special deployment or not.

Practically, no, the FAQ ruling is purely to prevent you from adding an Infiltrating character to a unit and dragging them along with him.

Also, where did you find the document? BL still shows 'Last updated October 2014' for me.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
12,830 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,694 Posts
it just limits their abuse.
since i play chaos i dare you to find infiltration abuse into the vanilla csm codex :p

Edit: also, i'm not really aware of some form of abuse from this caveat...can you guys put in some examples?
 

·
Rattlehead
Joined
·
6,741 Posts
No, we think they're 'useless' because, as written in the FAQ, a character with Infiltrate cannot deploy with a unit unless that unit also has Infiltrate, no matter whether they use their Infiltrate deployment or not. For example, Shadowsun either deploys alone, or deploys with Stealth Suits or Kroot, because they're the only units that have Infiltrate and therefore are the only units eligible to be joined by her.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,385 Posts
No, we think they're 'useless' because, as written in the FAQ, a character with Infiltrate cannot deploy with a unit unless that unit also has Infiltrate, no matter whether they use their Infiltrate deployment or not. For example, Shadowsun either deploys alone, or deploys with Stealth Suits or Kroot, because they're the only units that have Infiltrate and therefore are the only units eligible to be joined by her.
That's not what it says. It says they can't join a unit of Infiltrators if they don't have the Infiltrate rule (and vice versa). So for your example to be correct it needs to read:

For example, Shadowsun either infiltrates alone, or infiltrates with Stealth Suits or Kroot, because they're the only units that have Infiltrate and therefore are the only units eligible to be joined by her if she's infiltrating.
It only matters if you're Infiltrating, otherwise you're not an Infiltrator. Any other reading of the rule is going into the "your model can't shoot because it doesn't have eyes" level of silliness that troll-logic RAW revolves around.
 

·
Rattlehead
Joined
·
6,741 Posts
Ah, there we have it; I misremembered the wording on the FAQ on my previous post.

RAW is a thing that people will argue no matter how stupid it is, mang, even when 40k is blatantly obviously meant to be interpreted using common sense.
 

·
Entropy Fetishist
Joined
·
4,249 Posts
Well, it's good to iron out a long-contested rules squabble, even if it means limits CSM options a bit more from my personal camp. Still, honestly, the only way I've run Huron, lately, is infiltrating Daemonettes, rather than any squad he or a character are in.

And good to see immobilized Skimmers can no longer jink.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
393 Posts
yes that did seem a little :laugh: that an imobilized skimmer could still jink
 

·
Rattlehead
Joined
·
6,741 Posts
That's why the rule was changed in the first place, abuse like that. The FAQ just clarifies it further since Infiltrate is a rule that normally confers as long as a single model has the rule.
Actually, not so - Ghazghkull was permitted to join Snikrot in coming on from the enemy board edge simce Snikrot's 'Ambush' special rule was worded completely differently (and most notably, lacked the IC clause) from the Outflank rule. I think 5th edition actually explicitly stated that infiltrators couldn't drag a character along with them or vive versa, hence why it only worked with Snikrot.
 

·
JUGGERNUT
Joined
·
2,558 Posts
Having a second look at Infiltrating, I failed to see before that it's not a "MAY" option anymore. It's a requirement to do so (even if you "Infiltrate" your own deployment zone). That does change things. So yeah @MidnightSun, you're right about it, just for a different reason. :p
I didn't notice this either, glad you pointed it out. Infiltrators have to infiltrate. Huh. :nono:
 
1 - 17 of 17 Posts
Top