Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My mate just recently got the new Cult mechanicus codex, and so we sat down and had a flick through. She really liked the look of the Holy Requisitioner formation, but I was unsure about the reliability of actually hitting with bs3 in small numbers (particularly with the single shot torsion cannon).

So, we were seeing about adding an allied librarian with jump pack, going for divination for some re-rolls. However, came up against the age old problem since formations came out, how does the independent character interact with the rules of a formation? I know this is still a major topic of debate with void claws from the space wolf supplement.

So, the rules of the formation say:
1. Models in this formation must be placed in deepstrike reserve. So far so good, librarian with jump pack can do this too!

2. When making a reserves roll, make a singe roll for the entire formation. Now, the IC is not part of the formation, but has joined a unit which is part of it. The rules state that the IC counts as part of the unit for most purposes...so does that work here?

3. This formation's kataphron breachers do not scatter when they deepstrike within 6" of the formations tech-priest dominus. Now this specifically states breachers, so I would say that an IC would still scatter, so hes part of the unit...but can scatter out of coherency? Or just 100% cannot join before they are on the board?

Cheers for any advice on the matter!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,689 Posts
I would say that ICs do not benefit from any rules that apply to a formation, since they are NOT a part of the formation.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,848 Posts
I've been plotting similar stuff using the Nemesis Strike Force detachment (GK can deepstrike first turn) along with a Champions of Fenris detachment (just adding elites and HQs to existing squads).

I don't have the book in front of me, but in the main rule boot, under ICs joining squads, it says that it gains all the rules for that unit. it doesn't say SPECIAL RULES, so it's not automatically getting Shrouded or Rage or whatever, but it would get anything that the unit is given... such as auto deep strike, or the like.

If the Formation rules say 'Only Models in the Formation', then you're outta luck, but if it's units in the formation, the above should apply.
 

·
Rattlehead
Joined
·
6,741 Posts
I think that an attached independent character gains any reserve-related or similar Command Benefit purely for ease of play; there appears to be no conclusive answer, but I think it makes sense simply from a fluff perspective that, for example, the Grey Knights would use their fancy teleporters despite an Inquisitor hanging around.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,195 Posts
I am in the opinion that if they are not listed in the Formation requirements they do not qualify for the Formation benefits. I also am of the opinion that if you attach someone from outside of the formation to the formation it will negate that formation's benefits. I have seen this and the stance that the IC becomes part of the formation. It seems to be as stated before one of those grey areas.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,323 Posts
I am in the opinion that if they are not listed in the Formation requirements they do not qualify for the Formation benefits. I also am of the opinion that if you attach someone from outside of the formation to the formation it will negate that formation's benefits.
I know not everyone agrees with this, but for whatever it's worth on a forum of people I'll likely never game against I'm of the same opinion.

When assembling my army I'm of the mentality that if I'm going to have to have any kind of conversation pre-game about the legality of my list I'll just play something different. There's lots of ways to win, and when I show up at the LGS I'm there to game and not discuss how to bend rules around grey areas.

but I think it makes sense simply from a fluff perspective that, for example, the Grey Knights would use their fancy teleporters despite an Inquisitor hanging around
Could the fluff not also support that the Inquisitor, a lowly human, just not be able to deal with the potential physical stresses of such a fast teleportation into battle? I mean this is sci-fi, all it takes it you believing in the fiction you're creating.
 

·
Rattlehead
Joined
·
6,741 Posts
Could the fluff not also support that the Inquisitor, a lowly human, just not be able to deal with the potential physical stresses of such a fast teleportation into battle? I mean this is sci-fi, all it takes it you believing in the fiction you're creating.
As opposed to all slow teleportation? Do you dematerialise/rematerialise over the course of several seconds?

I was under the impression that the NSF let you Deep Strike turn 1 because the GK use teleportation to deliver a first strike/deploy, rather than teleporting down reinforcements later into the battle to reinforce the weak areas of the line/go after a specific target.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,323 Posts
Just to play devil's advocate with a bit of imagination, GK are also allowed to shoot and run in any order the turn they arrive. Maybe they don't like slow mushy tag-along zealots now that they have their own shiny hardcover 'dex and the Inquisition resides only in digital format (barring you using a printer, of course)? The opposition could take the stance that the Inquisitor shouldn't be allowed to do something that only the finest of the fine space marines can do with all their training and perfection in battle merely through proximity.

All of this isn't based in the rules of the game though...which honestly I'm not here to debate. Just gunna slowly back away now...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
I can see your points! All very valid!
I think we'll go back to the drawing board, she never plays in tournaments, only friendly games so, as ntaw has said, its probably best just coming up with another idea and play the game.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,323 Posts
As a bonus and something MidnightSun pointed out to me long ago, allied Inquisitors can bring Servo Skulls which reduce your scatter dice (all types of scatter dice rolls) by D6" in a 12" bubble. The Inq. and three Skulls costs 39 points I think, and while the model itself sometimes is or isn't useful that DS boon can be a great help.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14 Posts
People are forgetting the Combined Unit rule in the BRB, which states that you roll once for a unit in Reserve, which includes any attached ICs and any embarked vehicles.

In the case of the Jump Pack Libby attached to a unit in a Holy Requisitioner formation, the IC would arrive with the unit/formation.

SJ
 

·
Rattlehead
Joined
·
6,741 Posts
As a bonus and something MidnightSun pointed out to me long ago, allied Inquisitors can bring Servo Skulls which reduce your scatter dice (all types of scatter dice rolls) by D6" in a 12" bubble. The Inq. and three Skulls costs 39 points I think, and while the model itself sometimes is or isn't useful that DS boon can be a great help.
34pts, and you can give him a tonne of gear to make him a utility powerhouse.

Inquisitors are great.
 
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
Top