Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The 5th ed Imperial Guard Codex doesn't appear to mention anywhere that company/platoon commanders are independent characters so I just assumed they weren't.

BUT... the official rules FAQ says they are independent characters!?

I'm slightly confused here...

I thought at first the FAQ was outdated as the 4th Ed Codex said they were independent characters though I've only just realised the FAQ is from Feb this year, well after 5th Ed codex came out!

There is nothing in IG FAQ. So whats the deal here? Can they be targetted in CC like Independent Characters and are they worth a seperate kill point, or is the FAQ just badly updated?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
496 Posts
so im assuming your asking if a CC in a CCS is sepret to his CCS in any way?

the answer is no... they are one squad are are worth one KP for killing all of them (5+ depending on upgrade chars)

his CCS are his personal guard/advisors and he keeps them close...

CC is not independant he must always be in a CCS and may never leave/join another unit during the game :3

hope thats clear...

same applys for PCS's
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Army Specific Questions

Q. How many kill points is an Imperial Guard
Command Squad worth? Is a Junior Officer and
his four Guardsmen worth 1 point or 2?
A. A Command Squad is an independent
character and his retinue, as defined on page 48
of the rulebook. The rulebook clearly states on
page 91 that a character and his retinue are worth
1 kill point each. Therefore the enemy gains 1 kill
point for killing the Junior Officer, and 1 kill
point for killing the accompanying Guardsmen.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
111 Posts
Ah, bit of a problem... the codex was released May {?} 2009 and the FAQ is dated Feb 2010.

The FAQ seems to be referring to the last chapter ‘Retinues’.

“Some Codex books allow you to field characters together with a special unit they cannot leave during the game (which is usually called a ‘retinue’, ‘bodyguard’ or similar)Where this is the case, the character counts as an upgraded character until the other members of the unit are killed, at which point it starts counting as an independent character and it will do so for the rest of the game”


So, RAW, your platoon or HQ commanders are upgraded characters unless the rest of the group are wiped out, then they become ICs. The FAQ clarifies that if the entire group is destroyed, together or separately, they are individual kill points.

I was disappointed when this FAQ came out, but them’s the rules
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
111 Posts
Err, no, they are not IC's and will not revert to IC status because they never had it in the first place.
Quite right. Not 'Revert', 'Starts counting as'.

"...A command squad is an independent character and his retinue as defined on page 48 of the rulebook…”

40K Rulebook FAQ, Feb 25th, 2010.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,719 Posts
The BRB FAQ has been added onto and updated a few times, this is a holdover from an older version that hasn't been changed. This specific question and answer were NOT added in February.

Not even the design team is that clueless about their own ruleset.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,822 Posts
What DK said. The IG question has been in the FAQ since the release of 5th ed. The date currently on the FAQ comes from updates in the errata, all the bits is red (at least in my copy they are red).
 
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
Top