Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

41 - 51 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
870 Posts
But units that meet a criteria are by definition not random.

and yes they do. I posted the first lot I sent in a week ago. Not sure how "acceptable" the responses are but they do give an umpire's decision.
They are about as acceptable as tournament rules rulings, take them with a grain of salt unless it comes from the writer of the rules. The only thing people will accept is an FAQ.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
7,889 Posts
They are about as acceptable as tournament rules rulings, take them with a grain of salt unless it comes from the writer of the rules. The only thing people will accept is an FAQ.
Sure, we use them in the club and if we run a tourney they are part of the competitors pack so really it fits the bill.

I post them here just as a bit of useful info I guess, take it or leave it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
548 Posts
You can scatter blast templates into allies of C, so i don't see why Immy wouldn't hit them. But Necrons are pretty good right now so i cant see you taking allot of allies anyway...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,825 Posts
What? This isn't how shroud works. Nor it is how Imotekh's power is even worded. It just says all enemies, meaning all enemies. Yes AoC can't be shot at. But he's not shooting, nor is he targeting. Its a board wide AOE which isn't targeting anything.
Okay ... I understand your confusion but I was making a comparison to Magic: The Gathering, hence "Magic" being capitalized in my last post. They both have rules called Shroud(technically Shrouded in 40K). I was merely mentioning that I've seen this type of argument in other games and until there is an FAQ, it will continue. It took the creators of Magic going back and amending a lot of cards to solve their issue. Fortunately, GW just needs to FAQ Imotekh here.

Now that Shrouded has been brought into it though, I do have a question. It's a bit of a re-hash I'm sure, but at what distance is the Lightning considered to originate from? It's occuring during Night Fighting and distance matters in Night Fighting now, in terms of gratning cover. Surely it's not counted as originating from Imotekh, otherwise it could not hit models more than 36" from him at all. But do those hit get Stealth or Shrouded?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
807 Posts
Now that Shrouded has been brought into it though, I do have a question. It's a bit of a re-hash I'm sure, but at what distance is the Lightning considered to originate from? It's occuring during Night Fighting and distance matters in Night Fighting now, in terms of gratning cover. Surely it's not counted as originating from Imotekh, otherwise it could not hit models more than 36" from him at all. But do those hit get Stealth or Shrouded?
Rules wise: It's not a shooting attack. On a Roll of a 6 the unit takes d6 hits. There is no "firer" there for they just take hits

Fluff wise: It's Lightning Bolts they come up form the ground under your boots.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,825 Posts
Rules wise: It's not a shooting attack. On a Roll of a 6 the unit takes d6 hits. There is no "firer" there for they just take hits

Fluff wise: It's Lightning Bolts they come up form the ground under your boots.
Oh-ho. Somebody actually knows that lightning typically travels up, not down. Bravo. It seems GW missed this as it strikes vehicles on side armor(top) not rear armor(bottom).
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
7,889 Posts
Oh-ho. Somebody actually knows that lightning typically travels up, not down. Bravo. It seems GW missed this as it strikes vehicles on side armor(top) not rear armor(bottom).
Aeroplanes can be struck by lightning, from any aspect.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
548 Posts
Oh-ho. Somebody actually knows that lightning typically travels up, not down. Bravo. It seems GW missed this as it strikes vehicles on side armor(top) not rear armor(bottom).
o0... Lighting happens when a positive leader meets a negative leader coming form above. But the "lightning" still more or less goes all zappy above in the air where the channels are made,and above the ground where the positive leader is coming up from... so yes vehicle would be hit on the top, not the bottom.

If lightning cam from the ground you would be safer to clime a pole than stand in the open... but i digress, its not really important to how Immys power works.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
807 Posts
o0... Lighting happens when a positive leader meets a negative leader coming form above. But the "lightning" still more or less goes all zappy above in the air where the channels are made,and above the ground where the positive leader is coming up from... so yes vehicle would be hit on the top, not the bottom.

If lightning cam from the ground you would be safer to clime a pole than stand in the open... but i digress, its not really important to how Immys power works.
Yeah, and that's why I said Fluffwise lol

The important thing to remember is that his Lightning Bolts are not a Shooting attack. So in most cases they won't get a cover save.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
189 Posts
Okay ... I understand your confusion but I was making a comparison to Magic: The Gathering, hence "Magic" being capitalized in my last post. They both have rules called Shroud(technically Shrouded in 40K). I was merely mentioning that I've seen this type of argument in other games and until there is an FAQ, it will continue. It took the creators of Magic going back and amending a lot of cards to solve their issue. Fortunately, GW just needs to FAQ Imotekh here.

Now that Shrouded has been brought into it though, I do have a question. It's a bit of a re-hash I'm sure, but at what distance is the Lightning considered to originate from? It's occuring during Night Fighting and distance matters in Night Fighting now, in terms of gratning cover. Surely it's not counted as originating from Imotekh, otherwise it could not hit models more than 36" from him at all. But do those hit get Stealth or Shrouded?
Ah, ok I gotcha. For a second I was like, what?? shroud doesn't work like that at all.

In regards to the lightning, I would have to say, (based on interpretation purely CYA!) since the rule doesn't specify a starting point. Like a shooting attack for instance, I think the bolts just happen and night fighting doesn't matter. If the rule said that the model shoots lightning that hits all enemies I would say the exact opposite. But because the lightning auto hits all enemies (eat your heart out boys) without coming from a particular source, then boom, no stealth or shroud bonus. I will say this I CAN BE TOTALLY WRONG. So don't come whipping your attempt at being a rules alpha male out to prove you're better than me. Nobody cares for your opinion except for a valid argument. :punish: #namedrop
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,825 Posts
o0... Lighting happens when a positive leader meets a negative leader coming form above. But the "lightning" still more or less goes all zappy above in the air where the channels are made,and above the ground where the positive leader is coming up from... so yes vehicle would be hit on the top, not the bottom.

If lightning cam from the ground you would be safer to clime a pole than stand in the open... but i digress, its not really important to how Immys power works.
Actually, I did some research and it seems I was a little misinformed. But Lightning can travel cloud-to-ground or ground-to-cloud. In no instance, however, would you be safer standing in the open as taller objects tend to become conduits for the charge flow.

Yeah, and that's why I said Fluffwise lol

The important thing to remember is that his Lightning Bolts are not a Shooting attack. So in most cases they won't get a cover save.
And that is the important thing to know. Only get cover in area terrain, like Barrage. Nice that Stealth and Shrouded do jack.
 
41 - 51 of 51 Posts
Top