Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Played a game on friday agenst eldar, and my friend used some sort of landing gear (don't remember what it is called) that made his falcon land instead of becoming imobeliced. The question that appeared was that I meant the falcon was no longer mobile an thus possible to penetrate, he meant that the skimmer moving fast rule lasted until end of turn. Anybody who knows?

Edit: Some typing errors :oops: The falcon landed instead of being destroyd, not imobeliced...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,822 Posts
OK, so he landed using the Vectored engines, which allow it to land as if it had not moved that turn. Well, once it's immobilized, landed is still immobilized, cause it cannot take off again, it's no longer a skimmer, right? And doesn't it have to be a skimmer to get the Skimmer Moving Fast rule? So if it's not a skimmer.............
 

·
Porn King!!!
Joined
·
8,137 Posts
To my knowledge, landing a vehicle means that the glancing only rule no longer applies. In your turn the vehicle is in a stationary position on the ground and can therefore be penetrated as it is not still moving.


Anyone know of something different?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,688 Posts
Well this is what i make out of the argument--

Its a skimmer, a moved more than 6'', even though he landed, he moved. So, to represent this..

Well shit, thats a fucked up question. It could go either damn way.

Sorry, i have no solid answer. :oops: :|
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
325 Posts
I hate to be my usual sarcastic & unpleasant self but did you actually read the SMF rule?

If you had done you would have seen that the second sentence contains the answer.

Why oh why lord can the youth of today not read anything other than harry pothead?
:wah:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,688 Posts
Yes i did. It seems straight enough.

Their glancing hits, not penetrating.

But...Its like "the turn before of the enemy is actually happening now" right?

So usually when the skimmer moves, it moves fast and "they cant shoot it"

But after it moves fast...AND LANDS to a standstill, whose to say you cant shoot it?

I'd use the SMF.

I just think too damn much. :cry:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
325 Posts
Anphicar I actually meant that to be directed at the OP.

In order to claim use SMF the S must be mobile.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,648 Posts
Also keep in mind that the rules are designed to represent constant action within the battle. While the players take turns, the models within the game would all be acting continuously in concert.

They would not shoot down a skimmer only as it landed, they'd be shooting at it while it approached, and as it landed. I guess keeping the rules simple (to a point) convinced the developers to make the SMF rule as basic as it is.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
811 Posts
on a side note, star engines allow a vehical to add 12 inches to its movment instead of shooting.


so if you have a fast vehical that can already do that (move 24 inches if not shooting) can you then add the star engines ontop of that and have a vehical that can move 36 inches and not shoot?

it seems to me that you only have one "shooting" to use to do somthing that requires that you give it up. so if something that requires you to give up your shooting phase has already been done, how can you give it up twice?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
My opponent argument was that all shooting happend at the same time, while I think it dont. After all if it had been destroyed I would shoot at somthing else...

The wording in the rulebook supports both argument. Dont remember exactly how it is writen but is along the lines of: if a mobile skimmer moved more then 6" last turn...

The way I look at it all of the sentence have to be in order, it was no longer mobile an thus penetrateble. My opponent read the hole sentence in one go (backwards) and said: in the last turn it moved more than 6" and at the time was mobile.

Of course it was mobile at the time. How the hell did it move if it was not!!!
 
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
Top