Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,993 Posts
I remember that being a rule in cityfight, but can't recall ever seeing something like it in a guard codex and I've had one since third edition. Do you remember which codex it was in?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
424 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Well I played IG in 2nd, when the individual regiments (Catachan, Mordian, Tallarn, Attillan) came out and remember you could do it then. Since then I never attached HWTs to a squad, instead taking HWT squads, so I might just have been timewarped back to 1995 when I was thinking about it.

Thanks guys!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,323 Posts
You can take 2 man HWTs as part of Infantry Squad within a Platoon, or you can take 3 HWTs to make up a Heavy Weapons Squad (that can move/get left behind as a separate unit and can not combine into the almighty blob) within a Platoon.

ie. Infantry Platoon:

0-1 Platoon Command Squad
2-5 Infantry Squads (each squad can take a HWT, must stay as part of unit)
0-5 Heavy Weapons Squads (each squad made up of 3 HWTs, each group of 3 a unit unto themselves)
0-3 Special Weapons Squads
0-1 Conscripts Squad

It's a huge amount of models possible for one Troops selection.
 

·
Entropy Fetishist
Joined
·
4,249 Posts
You'd have to take them separate as HWS, nope, sorry. Though with current edition rules you could advance with the rest of the squad's minis, just conga-lining an infantryman every 2," while the HWT stays stationary.
 
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
Top