Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

· Registered
Joined
·
2,844 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So as more Formations hit the game, I find that this is coming up more and more often, and once again am looking for additional opinions on the ruling.

This has come up especially with the new Skyhammer Annihilation Force, and for myself, the Nemesis Strike Force (just two examples).

If you have an allied detachment of some sort, and you have an Independent Character. You take the IC, and attach it to a squad of GK Terminators from the NSF, or you put them in the drop pod with the Devastators from the SAF... does the deployment still work?

My take is yes. An IC added to the unit deploys with the unit, as part of the unit. However, opposing arguments state that the IC is not part of that formation, which negates the entire formation.

NOTE: I'm only talking deployment. Not the run/shoot that the NSF get, or the special firepower from the SAF, etc.
 

· Registered
Joined
·
2,844 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
A few people have quoted the same rule you did, that if a rule is not given to the whole squad... while I gave the other half of that rule, where the IC counts for the unit.

When I posted what you wrote about the Battle Brothers modifying, I was told by one person that 'Instead of' does not mean modify, it means 'Instead of'. Then someone else said that since the Formation says 'GK only', you cant add allies to it. Someone else then said that all the tournament rulings have allowed it, and they said that tournaments don't count.

So I think I'll just call it a day over there.
 

· Registered
Joined
·
2,844 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
This was one of the group moderators for a 'Chambers Militant' 40k group on Facebook. I had posted a list that started with the NSF and a Librarius Conclave (mostly to add 3 ICs, one to each group of GK Terminators).

The list had each Librarian in Terminator armor to take advantage of Deep Strike with the GK group. The moderator proceed to state over and over that because 'Rites of Teleportation' was a special rule, the rule you quoted above means that the IC doesn't get it, and that Rites of Teleportation is not a modifier.

There was me and one other person, me explaining the OTHER rule from the IC section, stating that it does count for the rules. The other person was stating that they have to deploy together because the unit deploys as a whole.

The moderator continued to say over and over that it forces them to not be able to go into reserve together. Otherwise it would be a way for an IC to get around having a jump pack and going in with Assault Marines. When I said, for the fourth time, to stop focusing on wargear because that part was already covered, he degraded into saying 'stop arguing, this is a friendly debate'. But he had already made his own cracks about arguing ourselves into a corner of wet paint, so I said sod off and stopped talking about it.
 
1 - 4 of 4 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top