Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm interested in starting an Eldar list and I would like some "harsh" feedback. :grin:
(keep in mind that i'm new to this kind of stuff)

1500pts (of shear........ well I don't know what to call it)

HQ: Illic Nightspear (140pts)

Troops: 2 squads of x5 pathfinders (250pts)
Holding objectives and picking off elites.

Elite: 2 squads of x9 striking scorpions (both squads have an exarch with scorpions claw and crushing blow). These will be out flanking! (440pts)

Fast attack: 3 squads of x4 warp spiders (all squads include an exarch with spinneret rifle and marksman's eye). (390pts)

Heavy support: 2 squadrons of x2 war walkers armed with dual bright lances
I wanted these for long range anti armour. (280pts)

So this list has lots of upgrades and repetition (I know I'm Eldar and repetition isn't always great but what da heck). The main focus is to swiftly launch one unified assault and wipe out the enemy with a combination of long range fire power, Hit n'run attacks and surprise close combat.

·
Registered
2,848 Posts
Harsh feedback...

You used the wrong version of 'sheer'.

Shear: to cut.

Sheer: extreme.

That being said, I'm not much for the infantry parts of Eldar, but you seem fairly fragile. More so than most space elves. I've heard pretty poor things when it comes to Illic and Pathfinders, but hopefully others can explain better.

·
Registered
87 Posts
I use to love the Pathfinders, that was last codex, they were great, especially if you threw guide on them to reroll missed hits.... not they are to expensive really.

Some people love warp spiders, I haven't really experimented with them much,. That goes for the scorpions as well.

I like walkers, I would throw 1 lance and one scatter though. That way if you hit with the scatter, you are able to reroll with the bright lance.