Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

61 - 74 of 74 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
219 Posts
Is it possible for a Warboss with a Power Klaw and a Slugga (or a SM Captain with Pistol and PF) to swing on his normal Initiative at his base Strength INSTEAD of using his PK/PF at Initiative 1?

If yes, what if he has ONLY a PF and no other CC weapon?


Thanks in advance
 

·
Rattlehead
Joined
·
6,741 Posts
Errata:
Change the ruling of 'Reanimation Protocols' to state that 'If the test is failed, the relevant/corresponding counter is removed.'

Annoys me that Necrons can check for RP every damn turn, even at 5+.

Midnight
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
258 Posts
Power weapons. From what I gather the power lance is albeit obsolete with it dropping to ap4 and losing its gained 1 strength after the first round of combat, thus no longer being able to instant kill meq.. Does anyone still use then and if so where and how? I'm really trying to justify giving my nurgle lord on bike one for aesthetic purposes but I can't justify it if its crap..
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
992 Posts
Power lances are good first strike weapons. They are +1ST AP3 weapons on the charge that strike on I, after the charge they are still better than a standard CCW against Armor 4 or higher. I like the aesthetic of them on bikers and with a Lord character you could always go with a Lance for the +1 ST charge and then a Power Sword for further rounds of combat. Same cost as the ever popular twin LC you are just sacrificing shred for +1ST on charge.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
258 Posts
Firstly, what's the difference between the starter rulebook and the full one? Obviously size (hardback softback), less pages etc etc. but do you actually miss any content or hae they just cut the drawings out and such?

Secondly, super heavies. When can they be used, and what slot do they fall under (troops, heavy support etc), finally can my chaos army have a super heavy as part of imperial guard allies?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
58 Posts
i'm hazy on this one, so i'll post it. i have a special rule that is conferred by range (units within 12" get FNP, Ect) does that rule stay with the squad until the end of the phaze (assault, shoot, Ect) if they move out of range? or is it lost as soon as they move out of range?
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
7,889 Posts
i'm hazy on this one, so i'll post it. i have a special rule that is conferred by range (units within 12" get FNP, Ect) does that rule stay with the squad until the end of the phaze (assault, shoot, Ect) if they move out of range? or is it lost as soon as they move out of range?
If the rule doesn't specify a duration then it is at the moment of resolution. So for FNP it would be at the point that a model in a unit incurs an unsaved wound that you'd check to see if they are within 12".
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
58 Posts
oh, ok. that sounds right (FNP was a bad example) so furious charge/hated/preferred enemy would last the whole assault phase? or would i have to check when it comes time to roll dice?

thanks for the reply
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
7,889 Posts
Again my call would be "at the point of application"

So when you charge for a Furious Charge, so the effects will last as the unit has "made a furious charge" even if they are now outside the buff range.

Preferred enemy etc would need to be within the range when the re-roll is to be made.

It's going to vary from rule to rule and how each is written but to date I can't think of any that create a confusing situation.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,719 Posts
The BA FAQ states you need to be in range when you roll attacks for Furious Charge. I'd go with "within range at the time of rolling" for all unless otherwise stated.
 
61 - 74 of 74 Posts
Top