Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 20 of 74 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
12,830 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Okay guys. Dakka Dakka, Warseer and Librarium all produce their own FAQ's for 40K. And they're crap, frankly. Some of the decisions plain don't make sense.

Anyway, here is where we come in - the venerable Rules answering teams - the cabbage, TheKingElessar, Tim/Steve, Deathklokk, Revelations, Galahad, and probably many others I've missed (and not forgetting myself, who cheers on while looking a complete twat), it's high time we've come up with our own - we know what IT is, or what IT should be, but thanks to the Bonobo's in the Games Development department, it doesn't make much sense.

Recently, there have been a fair few heated debates over the interpretation of rules, so it's up to us to atttempt to make a thread of FAQ's that the forum can refer to, and hopefully release in the future as part of a Heresy Production.

Okay -

I'm just going to go through the first couple of pages, and find the most contentious, and then post them here.

There are several sections - General, which is further subdivided referring to the Rulebook, and Specific, which is further subdivided into Codices and then the same sections as that under General.



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
12,830 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
SPECIFIC​

CHAOS DAEMONS​
Special Characters
Question: Ku'Gath's special rule "Nurgling Infestation" states that at the "beginning of any turn he is on the table (not including the one when he arrives from Reserve), the player may roll a dice". On page 9 of the Warhammer 40,000 Rulebook, it states that "Whenever a rule uses the word ‘turn’, both in this rule book and in the Codexes, it means ‘player turn’, otherwise it will clearly state ‘game turn’". Does this mean that I am able to roll a dice to see whether I am able to Deep Strike a Nurgling base during both my and my opponents turn, and potentially summon 2 Nurgling Bases during each Game Turn?
Answer: Yes, is the answer. As it clearly states in the Rulebook, Turn refers to Player Turn, hence the Nurgling Infestation special rule can be substituted to read "beginning of any player turn he is on the table (not including the one when he arrives from Reserve), the player may roll a dice". However, there is nothing to stop your opponent pushing to move his first unit, at which point the start of the turn has passed, and you may not roll to bring a Nurgling base onto the field.

IMPERIAL GUARD​

Orders
Question: Under the heading "Imperial Guard Orders", on page 29, it sates that officers have the "ability to issue one or more orders each turn". By my understanding of the rules for turns, on page 9 of the Warhammer 40,000 Rulebook, it states that "Whenever a rule uses the word ‘turn’, both in this rule book and in the Codexes, it means ‘player turn’, otherwise it will clearly state ‘game turn’". Does this mean that I am able to issue this order during both my turn and my opponents turn, and potentially fire 6 Lasgun shots during each Game Turn?
Answer: Yes, is the answer. As it clearly states in the Rulebook, Turn refers to Player Turn, hence the Imperial Guard orders can be substituted to read "ability to issue one or more orders each player turn". While there is contention over the background as to the reasoning for this, the rules are clear. However, there is nothing to stop your opponent rushing to declare his targets, at which point the start of the shooting phase has passed, and you may no longer give orders.

TAU​
Weaponry and Wargear
Question: Can I take armour, invulnerable, or coversaves against a Markerlight? Can I roll for Feel No Pain against a Markerlight?
Answer: No, is the answer. As no wound is caused, there is nothing to save against, and a Markerlight Token is placed. These Tokens may not be used to modify saves against other Markerlights, as usual.



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
12,830 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yeah, that's what I was thinking. I'm currently writing the RAW, but then when they're obviously wrong, that's what we'll be getting at after it's properly written out - mainly because I don't want to be talking RAW at the same time as a RAI argument is going on.

I know it's strange to think it, but I'm only so much human, and I'd prefer to order out what the rule book states, then read through and change when it doesn't make sense. ;) Are you onboard Sqwerl?



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,265 Posts
Can I request you don't use a ton of acronyms, and if you feel the need to, get them on the acronym list thing so I can know what you are on about.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
12,830 Posts
Discussion Starter #7

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,265 Posts
If you need any help that I actually help with I will help, if that makes any sense. But I will be honest I rarely stray out of the homebrew rules section and rarely do the 'proper' rules. There are other folk who are much better at that than me on the site.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
12,830 Posts
Discussion Starter #9

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,265 Posts
Ohh I read most of them. But I find that on the ones I don't know reading them is better than posting on them. And on the ones I do know it always seems like about 10 people got there before me. But yeah I will try to help where I can. But if I ever want to get me an award I will have to start posting more in the more important sections ad army lists is out of the question because I don't believe in them. Tactics are out of the question for the same reason. So that leaves Rules and Fluff. So I will try to help out there a bit.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,926 Posts
I'll just write the damn thing. Save you all the effort :p
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
12,830 Posts
Discussion Starter #15
Could we get a definitive answer on if the God of War rule makes units subject to No Retreat!, please?
Bear in mind that this is a WIP - hence there are going to be changing throughout the working of it.

As to your question - I'm biased - although my personal opinion is that it is subject to No Retreat. It's shared by many members, but also opposed by many members. I've emailed GW "Help" Service, and have asked staffers - I'm waiting for the email (not that that is anything useful), although the staffers are mixed - most leaning towards the automatic passing referring to the result, rather than the process.

This one, we will be leaving until the majority of the RAW are sorted, then the RAI will be worked on ;)



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
145 Posts
Perhaps a good idea would be to get people to request rules clarifications that they need, God of War being an example. I'm happy to throw my massive ego and rules fixing power into the project (pretty sure that markerlight ruling is the one I gave a couple of days ago).

I did find a fascinating RAW vs RAI weirdness that broke a few friends on another forum - units in locked in close combat going to ground as a reaction to a use in combat shooting phase attack (such as Aura of Decay or Nurgle's Rot).
 

·
I Piss in your Cheerios
Joined
·
7,370 Posts
Well, you know I'm aboard...:angry:
:laugh:

Here:
"If I split my Space Marine Tactical Squad into Combat Squads, can I then mount both units inside a Rhino? What if I have a Razorback? What if either unit starts in Reserve?"
No, once split they are considered separate units, and the Transport rules clearly state "A transport may carry a single infantry unit". If you have purchased a Razorback, either Combat Squad may begin the game deployed inside, but you may not do so if not split into Combat Squads. A unit in Reserve can be mounted inside a transport, but this must be declared at deployment. The same rules apply as outlined above.

And another:
"If an Independant Character, such as Eldrad Ulthran, joins a unit with a Dedicated Transport, do I have to declare to my opponent which vehicle is the one he is inside? If I have several identical vehicles with identical contents, excepting the Character, it becomes impossible for my opponent to tell from my army list, so should I tell them before the game?"
The Rulebook states "always make clear to your opponent which squads are embarked in which transport" The key word here is always - you should indeed inform your opponent which squad he has joined, and where the squad is - by extension, you divulge his location.

One more before I go to work:
"So here is the scenario Player A has Khan which allows all of his units to outflank. Player B manages to line the whole edge of the table on one side with his units. There was not a single inch that was not covered by Player Bs army so when Player A tried to outflank and happend to roll a 1 (where all of Player Bs units were) he couldnt get in. What happens to the guys that were trying to outflank? Do they just die do they not come in do they auto go to the other side?"

The units would be destroyed, unless they had a method of moving over your models (such as Jump Infantry) or could move yours aside (eg Tank Shock) However, you can expect to be banned for poor sportsmanship if attempting this manoeuvre, and to have the victory handed to your opponent instead - is it really worth it?
 
1 - 20 of 74 Posts
Top