Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
241 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have just started playing warhammer again after a 12 year abscence. I'v decided on Ogre Kingdoms as my army and have a had a few 1000pt battles to get the rules in to my head aswell as learning how to use my ogres properly and just want to make sure I'm getting it right.

I'm slightly confused at how to use gut magic properly (how to use it too benefit me in games and also yo use it correctly within the rules). So heres my questions (for ease of answering presume all magic is coming from a single butcher):

.Can I use the same spell multiple times on different units?
if so can I do this in the same turn i.e giving two units regeneration?

. Can I cast the same spell multiple times on the same unit and have the effects stack?
e.g. having toughness 7 ogres with regen

For any of the answers, if possible, can you give me page numbers so I can re-read the sections of the rule/army book so I can understand it better.

Any other things you want to add about using gut magic is also appreciated.
As I said I am new to both the rules and the army so any help is appreciated.
Thankyou in advance
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
353 Posts
I dont know the page number off hand, but a unit can only have one spell cast on it at a time. Also, ogres can not cast a spell more than once per magic phase.
 

·
WFB Moderator
Joined
·
8,248 Posts
I have just started playing warhammer again after a 12 year abscence. I'v decided on Ogre Kingdoms as my army and have a had a few 1000pt battles to get the rules in to my head aswell as learning how to use my ogres properly and just want to make sure I'm getting it right.

I'm slightly confused at how to use gut magic properly (how to use it too benefit me in games and also yo use it correctly within the rules). So heres my questions (for ease of answering presume all magic is coming from a single butcher):

.Can I use the same spell multiple times on different units?
if so can I do this in the same turn i.e giving two units regeneration?
Yes and yes, but not from the same butcher. If you successfully cast a spell (and its not dispelled) then the cost goes up by +3 for that turn for other butchers to cast it

. Can I cast the same spell multiple times on the same unit and have the effects stack?
e.g. having toughness 7 ogres with regen
No, only 1 buff per unit max.. so there is no question about stacking

For any of the answers, if possible, can you give me page numbers so I can re-read the sections of the rule/army book so I can understand it better.
Casting the same spell multiple times is in the first section of "Casting Gut Magic" P60, only being able to cast each one once is a standard rule of magic so i somewhere in the rulebook (but everyone will know that one- no mage other then vampire counts can keep spamming the same spell.
For the effects of spells and how they interact read the FAQ, its almost all based around spell interactions: here


Any other things you want to add about using gut magic is also appreciated.
As I said I am new to both the rules and the army so any help is appreciated.
Thankyou in advance
Gut Magic is very confusing.. as can be seen readint he FAQ. The errata tells you to ignore several different chunks of the rules in the army book and then the FAQ itself has many different questions on it.

Here is the quick and messy ruleset you need to know about Gut Magic
- Butchers are Lv2, Slaughtermasters are Lv4
- Butchers have 6" range on buffs, slaughtermasters have 12"
- one spell per unit, but not one unit per spell (trollguts can be on every unit in your army, but trollguts and bullgorger can never be on the same unit)
- if a character leaves a unit either the character or the unit has the buff on them, but not both
- character joining a unit is complicated. If the buff is on the character then it only affects him, if its on the unit it affects the character as well. If both have buffs you have to choose which one stays (almost always take the unit buff).
- anytime someone tries to dispel other then when you cast the spell its 'original casting value' is assumed to be a 7, regardless of what was actually needed to cast it (be it 3, 6, 9 or even 12+)


The one that keeps catching me out currently is opponents being able to dispel remains in play spells in my magic phase. So I cast buffs early, a few turns later just as Im charging I dont know what to do with my power dice as I've got all the buffs I want... I waste my dice and then my opponent just dispels all my buffs right when I need them. I need to learn to stop wasting dice :p
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
241 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
What if I attempt a spell and it is subsequently dispelled can I try that same spell again with the same butcher or would I have to use a different caster but the casting value would still be 3+
 

·
WFB Moderator
Joined
·
8,248 Posts
Casting Value would be the same, but would have to be differant butcher by the 8th ed magic rules.
As Putch says.
Basically its identical to every other lore around in that respect. If I have a HE mage with the first 2 spells from the lore of fire and fail to cast fireball I cannot then try to cast it again. Gut Magic is the same, except that the 'Lore Trait' is that each successful cast of a spell increases its casting cost by 3 for the rest of the turn.

Personally I have only been taking 1-2 spellcasters for my ogres- normally a slaughtermaster/skrag and then a butcher if I feel I need the back up (and to spam spells- he'll roll a 1-2 soon enough but then I can step in with the Lv4 and roll more dice per spell- helps to draw out the enemy dispel dice cheaply).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
241 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Thanks for the help. I think I get it now. I'll have to tell my friend that I screwed him over when I had a unit of toughness 7, strength 5 regenerating ogres running around :grin:
 
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
Top