Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
221 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys. I’m new to 40k and right now all I have in terms of models is what comes with the Assault on Black Reach kit and a squad of assault marines. I would like to build a standard tactically flexible Space Marine 1500pt Army before branching out into more experimental or specialized army builds. So I’m thinking of a highly mobile force in which each unit has the capacity to take on infantry or armor, mostly at range, so my cc strength will be some what weak. Here’s what I’m thinking…

• 3x 10 man Tactical Squads w/ ML and Flamer + Rhino = 615pts
  • 2x Predator Tanks w/ TLLC and LC side cannons = 330pts
  • 2x Land Speeders w/ HB & MM = 140pts
  • Terminator Squad + Space Marine Captain w/ Terminator Armor = 340pts.

So far I’m at 1425 with 75 points left. And so I’m considering ether:

• A 3rd Land Speeder
  • A 5 man Scout Squad
  • Adding a 6th Terminator and giving the squad chain fists
  • Giving the rhinos extra armor to make sure they keep moving and giving my Terminators chain fist

I’m not too sold on the Terminator squad just yet, because they’d have to deep strike and then foot slog toward their enemy, and so far I have had great success with my Assault Marines and so for the same point cost I could field a full 10 man squad of Assault Marines (and then the Captain would take a jet pack and power sword instead of the terminator armor.)

And is three Tactical Squads too many or just right?

Thanks in advance for your help.

·
Ask me about Pins
1,408 Posts
There are a lot of really effective builds for Space Marines.... However, what you need for the list is going to depend on how you want them to play. So I don't know if there is a "standard" build... I would start with a big theme... ie, do you want them to be shooty or assault oriented then do some research on the forums...