Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I want to make a 1000 points army. Of course I want to be able to win games with it, but it doesn't have to be competitive at all. Primarily, I want a list that I easily can work more with and expand in the future. I'm quite new to the hobby so I figured I wanted some advice before I got started.

Currently I own: 10 Dire Avenger, 5 rangers, a farseer and a wave serpent. In all, these are roughly 500 points. Next I am probably getting 3 war walkers, planning to use scatter lasers on them. But after that I am very unsure, for various reasons I don't want any jetbikes or vypers (yet). Could fire dragons and a falcon be ideal? When I get some replies I will make a more detailed list with wargear, and point costs and such.

·
Registered
249 Posts
Beautiful opening list. All of these are fantastic models to use, and three war walkers is a good investment.

Fire dragons and a falcon are fine, or alternately fire dragons and another wave serpent. It depends on how quickly you'll stay around with just those guys to field.
Taking 5-6 dragons and sticking them in a falcon gives you all your anti-tank in smaller games. However, as your lists get larger you'll usually want your dragons in serpents (which fire better* than falcons at cruising speed, and deal better with close proximity to melta), while your falcons stay at a breezy 36-48", unloading full firepower each round.

*falcons always have two weapons, sometimes three. They can only fire one at cruising speed, so you're wasitng points.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks a lot, this is what I came up with:

HQ

Farseer with singing spear and guide 78

Elites

5xFire Dragons 80

Troops

10xDire Avengers; exarch with diresword, bladestorm and defend 172
5xPathfinders 120
10xGuardiens with shuriken canon 85

Heavy Support
3xwar walkers, scatter lasers 180

Transport