Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to 40k and Im at the army picking stage. I have a general idea in that I know I want to be one of these armies: Dark Eldar, Tau, Orks, or Nids. Your oppinion would be much appreciated, and by the way the toughness of an army to play isn't a factor to me, because I enjoy a challenge.

·
Registered
95 Posts
All interesting choices in their own rights. I haven't seen a Dark Eldar army yet so I don't know about them. Tau are very shooty and can be quite nice if that's your style of play. Orks and Tyranids are more close combat oriented. I'm more familiar with the Tyranids. They are nasty. They have a lot of special rules to keep in mind but I suppose most armies do. You'll find their armor saves aren't worth the tissue paper they seem to be made out of. Except one special power they don't even have an invulnerable save. They specialize in hordes but don't count their big guys out. Orks are probably the funniest of the choices you listed. With them, saying things like Da Boyz and Killa Kan is common place and Waaaaaagh! can become a battle cry when you roll the dice (I've seen it, and yes, it is quite fun and funny)

All in all the chioce is yours and how you prefer to play. Close combat oriented? Go with Orks or Tyranids. Like range? Go with Tau. Hard hitting and running? Dark Eldar. Of course they can all go with any style of combat, for the most part they just seem to synergize better with ccertain styles of play.

·
Registered
505 Posts
Dark Eldar: NO!!!!! I've heard they are hard to play with when you haven't gotten a good grasp on strategies and tactics through experience. If you ever get a second army, they would be a great army because, used correctly, they are nearly unstoppable. However, as a first army, you should get one of the other armies.