Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello everyone.

Ok Im an oldie but a newbie. originally painted when I was about 14 (and was crappy) Now I have a 9 year old son who has just discovered the wonderful world of warhammer and has started painting. So i thought i'd have another look at the scene. Im now 36 (yep old un allert!!) and i have not piced up a brush to paint for that long I thought id document a little. I never played the games as a ikid - Just wanted tp paint to me and my son are learning together and we allready have started getting our armies together. Him with his ultra marines and I think im going to go a little mad and go for blood angels. he has painted his Black Reach army (I was allowed to do the dreadnaought though) I will post some pics as I go on building the army up. I just got the tactical squad so im building at the mo.

I have a quick question about basing. I really would like to place my captain on a rock formation like below but cant find out how or where i get or make the formations and what from. In the past i carved them out of cork bottle stoppers (just the right size) but these look moulded. Any help with this would be amazing. Thanks so much...

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 · (Edited)
im trying to find other examples or rock formations. i have seen them as piles of slate kind of thing but at the moment I cant put my mouse on them on the tinterweb!! any help would be ace as ill get a pic up asap of the first things i have done..

·
Must keep painting....
2,977 Posts
Welcome to the forums! :) With the bases you could use slate and other rocks, but don't pay too much for them, they are free if you look around outside...

A lot of people use tree bark for 'rock' bases, the best being something chunky like bits of pine bark. If you do a search in the tutorials or modelling and painting sections you are bound to find posts about basing.

·