Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So with the new book that came out the High Elves are allowed to take their rare choice of Eagles in a 1+ formation and are skirmishers when they do if I am not mistaken.

My question is if I put a lord/hero mounted on an eagle can he join the unit of eagles? Also can I make a unit (2-3)of characters of stictly lords/heroes mounted on eagles?
 

·
WFB Moderator
Joined
·
8,248 Posts
no and no... and for the same reason.

Characters with flying or on flying mounts can join units but nothing can join a unit of flyers without a special rule allowing them to do so (I think Tic Tac Toe is the only model with such a rule)... which is a bit silly when you have a character on the same mount as the unit you want to join. 2 characters both on eagles could both join the same non-flying unit and would stay together if the unit died but they can't join each other as that would be joining a flying unit.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,166 Posts
I don't have my book on me, but I thought that if both units were flyers you could? Is there a page ref to back this up, so I can use it??
 

·
WFB Moderator
Joined
·
8,248 Posts
P97- "unless otherwise stated, a character cannot join a unit of monsters (too much danger of being stood on), a unit of flyers (too many ill-disciplined wings buffeting the sky), a unit of chariots (too much danger of being run over), a unit of swarms (too much chance of being eaten) or a war machine (too much danger of being obliterated).

It then goes onto say that characters on monsters or chariots can never join units but doesn't say anything about flying characters or flying mounts, so they are allowed to join units but without a special rule to override the quoted rule above cannot join flying units.

This actually really annoys me because I have a themed skink army with many terradons and a character on terradon... who cannot join them (only Tic Tac Toe can and he's over 300pts and not worth more then 150). I would also run a WE noble on eagle if I could shove him in a unit of warhawks (which sounds like the perfect unit for how WE like to fight) but is sadly impossible.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
So in the same regard if I put a character on a Tiranoc Chariot he may not join a unit of other chariots. In this case the rules state that the character replaces one of the crew but according to your reference it may not join other Tiranoc Chariots that are unit size of 1-3.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
12,830 Posts
Unless it explicitly states otherwise.

A Character on a Chariot replaces a member of the crew. That Chariot is his mount. He is a Unit Size of 1 model. It states that Chariots may not join units. There is no exception to this rule.

So sadly, yes. If you want to play Chariots, Tomb Kings are the way to go. Which quite frankly blows ass, as that's the only trick they can pull; and there are too many counters to it; namely that they can't kill enough to take advantage of it more than once, or is easily redirected away from your armies most dangerous parts.



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3
 

·
WFB Moderator
Joined
·
8,248 Posts
Yup, characters on chariots is almost universally a bad idea. I used to do it when chariots were US4 and characters increased that to US5 (which meant they could disrupt ranks) so taking a US5 chariot to the flank was an almost certain loss but its not really worth thinking about anymore, and certainly not with any character you care about (general, BSB, highest lv mage etc).
 
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
Top