Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
90 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, situation occurred the other night.
I had 3 grav-cannon centurions firing into a space wolf unit. It composed of 3 thunderwolves (3+), 1 iron priest on a thunderwolf (2+) and 4 cyberwolves (4+).

Grav weapons wound a model depending on their armour save. The rule in the space marine codex states that "The roll needed To Wound when firing a grav-weapon is always equal to the armour save of the TARGET to a minimum of 6+. For example, when resolving a HIT against a space marine in power armour, you would need a 3+ To wound"

Emphasis added. Now, the example given in the book suggests that the roll to wound is dependent on the model hit, not the unit itself. However, whenever an ability affects a unit with mixed stats, it is usually accepted to affect the majority or highest.

So, in this circumstance, would the grav weapons be wounding on 4s if the cyberwolves were the first models hit in the unit? We decided that since they were the majority anyway, that was the case.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
12,830 Posts

·
Entropy Fetishist
Joined
·
4,249 Posts
I would play it by majority. So if the cyber-wolves are out in front, I would probably shoot some other type of weapon(s) first to try to kill 2 cyber-wolves before the grav-cannons fired.
 
1 - 3 of 3 Posts
Top