Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
109 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was playing a Grey Knights List and his Grand Master had the Ability that drops your Int by 1 if you are in base to base contact with him.

Since I don't play Grey Knights I don't know if they are missing any of the details on the ability.

After the game I played as I was leaving another person at the shop said that the incense ability only affects demons? or do it effect anyone in b2b contact with the Grand Master?

I had a Normal Chaos Lord(Slaanesh) in b2b contact with him, and not a demon in the fight.
 

·
Jac "Baneblade" O'Bite
Joined
·
8,082 Posts
Ordo Xeno Commander is correct I'm afraid. Page 18 of the Deamon Hunters Rulebook under the Scared Incense entry states that:

"All Chaos models involved in an assualt with a model equipped with Sacred incense suffer -1 to their intiative"
 

·
Inquisitor
Joined
·
963 Posts
Yep... its a nasty little piece of wargear thats makes one unit the death of chaos models all over the board. I usually put it on my Grandmaster as well and attach him to a full Elites choice of GK Termies. I equip the GM w/ a Daemonhamer and his NFW and the Brother Captian with a Chain Fist and his NFW and now we have 2 models who can chew through an entire chaos squad by themselves and a whole squad of power weapons to back them up!

But yeah... again sorry.. as long as his GM was in base contact with your unit it lowers your entire squads Init by 1. If your ever unsure about a rule or piece of wargear ask to see their codex.. but do it in a nice way as if your so psyched about reading it.. "Oh wow that cool! Can I read that! Man theres so many ways I would use this.." That way they dont feel like your calling them cheats or anything.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
109 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the Clarification. He was using it right but it always feels so wrong when your Lord goes and dies to force weapons. (atleast to me)
 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
Just remember that even with -1 init, the Slaaneshi lord should be striking at the same time as the GKGM, so chances are you can take him with you. The Blissgiver is more lethal in most cases than a force weapon (only exception being things that are immune to Instant Death) since any wound it gives inflicts instant death, rather than just having a chance of killing on just one wound.

Even if he slows your Slaaneshi lord down, that GM shouldn't live through the encounter
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
109 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
He did die with me. I also got another Termi that was in the squad of the GM as well. For having rolled a 6 for my demon weapon, and getting only 3 hits is also depressing.
 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
ICs are treated as separate units in assault, meaning you either target the IC or the squad he"s with, not both. How did you kill the GM and another model? Was it in different combat rounds?
 

·
Inquisitor
Joined
·
963 Posts
Just remember that even with -1 init, the Slaaneshi lord should be striking at the same time as the GKGM, so chances are you can take him with you. The Blissgiver is more lethal in most cases than a force weapon (only exception being things that are immune to Instant Death) since any wound it gives inflicts instant death, rather than just having a chance of killing on just one wound.

Even if he slows your Slaaneshi lord down, that GM shouldn't live through the encounter
Yeah but on the same hand your blissgiver might cause you to do nothing. You get 6-10 attacks on the charge with Blissgiver. We can have upto 6 on the charge. You cant have 5 as that means you rolled a 1 and you do NOTHING and you cant get a bonus for additional CCW as DWs are 2 handed. So thats a 1 in 6 chance off the bat of being your own worst enemy. Next against a GM with Sacred Incense we will hit simultaneously as we will both end up being 5. You hit on 3s and we hit on 4s but you wound on 4s where we wound on 2s. You have your 5+ inv and we can have upto a 4+ Inv. If you wound we die instantly and if we wound we have about 90% chance of killing you outright. So I would say best case scenario is BOTH of us will die about 99% of the time. The chances of either of us making it out of that combat is slim to none and Slim left town. Not to mention my standard build has a Brother Captain and a squad of Termies back him up.
 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
I never said it was a perfect situation or a perfect weapon...just that you won;t be leaving the board alone most of the time ;-)
 

·
Inquisitor
Joined
·
963 Posts
Im just not all that interested in DWs... I think they are a big farce now... but thats for another post.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
62 Posts
As some other people have said and verified it's all chaos models I quote from the Daemonhunters codex in the armoury: "All Chaos models involved in an assualt with a model equipped with Sacred incense suffer -1 to their intiative"
 
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
Top