Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
314 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey I'm new to Daemonhunters but would like to add some into my SWs force to use there rule-bending goodies. Namely mystics and ignore-eternal warrior FWs. So currently I'm planning on adding 2 squads in at 2000+ points, in the form of:

Grand master
w/ 4 termies, Ungeunts of warding, sacred incense

And
Inquisitor
w/ 3 mystics, 3 veterans with plama guns, Rhino w/ smokes

So, people who play Daemonhunters, what builds should I use?
And how should they be used? Do the termies need a LR, or can they get away with DSing?

·
Registered
418 Posts
Ungents of Warding is useless, as you already have the Agesis special rule for Grey Knights that stops the majority of psychic power affecting you.

However a Psychic hood is a good buy as normally its the powers that people cast on themselves (Warptime,Fortune, Unleash rage etc) that will piss you off. Also due to fluky old rules like NFW, the Daemonhunters psychic hood can be used everytime and has unlimited range :).

As to their method of transport, most people see GKT coming towards them and shoot the crap out of them. Only deepstrike them if there is nothing nasty aiming at them (Demlosiher cannons, Plas spam, Fire prisms etc.), transporting them in the landraider is the safe option.

Most importantly of all, remeber that a GM retinue has the flukey "retinue" rule which means he is in effect the squad sergeant and cannot be picked out as an independant charector! (Like orks hiding the Power claw in a mob, you can hide a GM in his retinue)