Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,101 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Two question about the ghost arc.

As a open top vehicle I flamed it with a redeemer flame storm cannon doing 4 hits to the warriors inside and killing them. In the same phase I destroyed the ark, what happened to the 4 dead necrons? do they move with the squad out of the transport and get to make a reanimate roll, or are they left behind and don't get chance to come back?

secondly: if one of the gauss flayers on the side is in rapid fire range, is the Entire array in rapid fire range? second point: if one point, (the barrel of one of the flayers) is in rapid fire range, can the WHOLE squad in side the ark rapid fire? (the issue was that we could not find out where you measured the range from, so it was from the nearest point. . .)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
773 Posts
1) They will fall down / explode out of the wreckage and be able to reanimate as normal with the remainder of the squad. Remember the roll is made after each phase, so they wont have had time to move away from the group that they belong to.

2) As far as I remember you treat every gun as an individual for the range. So if 1 is in range and the others not, then only the 1 rapid fires.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,384 Posts
Two question about the ghost arc.

As a open top vehicle I flamed it with a redeemer flame storm cannon doing 4 hits to the warriors inside and killing them. In the same phase I destroyed the ark, what happened to the 4 dead necrons? do they move with the squad out of the transport and get to make a reanimate roll, or are they left behind and don't get chance to come back?

secondly: if one of the gauss flayers on the side is in rapid fire range, is the Entire array in rapid fire range? second point: if one point, (the barrel of one of the flayers) is in rapid fire range, can the WHOLE squad in side the ark rapid fire? (the issue was that we could not find out where you measured the range from, so it was from the nearest point. . .)
1. I found this confusing when I first got the new codex, but the way the Reanimation reads is that you remove the models as your would any other army but place a marker next to the unit that move with the unit etc. and at the end of every phase roll a d6 for each marker and you place a warrior for each 5+ you roll, the only time you lose markers is if the unit is destroyed or the unit flees so the markers would go with them as they leave the wreckage of the ark.

2. I find this a slightly more odd one, in the codex it states that the ark has 2 gauss flayer arrays, and each array has 5 gauss flayers. SO you could trea it as either 2 weapons (one on either side) in which case only one of the barrels needs to be in but 5 gauss flayers only countas a single weapon for weapon destroyed, or 10 seperate guns so you measure the ark of each weapons individually in which case you only destroy a single flayer for weapon destroyed.

In my group we have always played it as 2 weapons its much simpler.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
773 Posts
1. I found this confusing when I first got the new codex, but the way the Reanimation reads is that you remove the models as your would any other army but place a marker next to the unit that move with the unit etc. and at the end of every phase roll a d6 for each marker and you place a warrior for each 5+ you roll, the only time you lose markers is if the unit is destroyed or the unit flees so the markers would go with them as they leave the wreckage of the ark.

2. I find this a slightly more odd one, in the codex it states that the ark has 2 gauss flayer arrays, and each array has 5 gauss flayers. SO you could trea it as either 2 weapons (one on either side) in which case only one of the barrels needs to be in but 5 gauss flayers only countas a single weapon for weapon destroyed, or 10 seperate guns so you measure the ark of each weapons individually in which case you only destroy a single flayer for weapon destroyed.

In my group we have always played it as 2 weapons its much simpler.
Remember you also remove the token if they fail that 5+ roll as well :)

Also yeah it says on page 53 of the Necron book that the 2 arrays can target different targets, BUT all the guns on the same array must shoot the same target.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,101 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Remember you also remove the token if they fail that 5+ roll as well :)

Also yeah it says on page 53 of the Necron book that the 2 arrays can target different targets, BUT all the guns on the same array must shoot the same target.
That I know, but what about the guys inside? we ended up range measured off the end of the barrel of the forward most flayer, which was the only part of the tank in rapid fire range, and then the whole squad in side was able to rapid fire since for open top transports you measure off the vehicles hull, it sound wrong as heck to me, but I A: did not want to slow the game down, and B: my argument was 'logical' which as all know 40k has about as much a relationship with as the Flintstones.
 

·
Rattlehead
Joined
·
6,741 Posts
2. I find this a slightly more odd one, in the codex it states that the ark has 2 gauss flayer arrays, and each array has 5 gauss flayers. SO you could trea it as either 2 weapons (one on either side) in which case only one of the barrels needs to be in but 5 gauss flayers only countas a single weapon for weapon destroyed, or 10 seperate guns so you measure the ark of each weapons individually in which case you only destroy a single flayer for weapon destroyed.

In my group we have always played it as 2 weapons its much simpler.
It's a single weapon, even if it does have multiple barrels. Destroying Gauss Flayer Arrays or Hurricane Bolters is one weapon destroyed result destroys the whole set of guns.

Remember you also remove the token if they fail that 5+ roll as well :)

Also yeah it says on page 53 of the Necron book that the 2 arrays can target different targets, BUT all the guns on the same array must shoot the same target.
Now that's interesting - if it specifically says they all have to target the same thing, that implies that you measure range from each one individually since they're all seperate weapons, despite being one 'Gauss Flayer Array'.

More confusing, unless there's a specific rule for it that I haven't noticed, is if you flame into a Ghost Ark, kill four of them, and the Ark stays alive. What happens to the counters?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
773 Posts
As far as I understand that situation... the ghost arc itself doesn't have reanimation protocols, so if everyone inside died it couldn't be the thing to help them get back up. IF at least 1 member of the unit is alive then they can of course use him to get back up, and of course the Ghost Arc can pick up extra bodies up to the starting number of the unit.

Also remember it is the Arc that fires the guns, not the models inside, as an open top vehicle they can still fire whatever weapons they have as well.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,384 Posts
More confusing, unless there's a specific rule for it that I haven't noticed, is if you flame into a Ghost Ark, kill four of them, and the Ark stays alive. What happens to the counters?
You would still keep the 4 counters unless the unit is destroyed

Also yeah it says on page 53 of the Necron book that the 2 arrays can target different targets, BUT all the guns on the same array must shoot the same target.
That is what made me think it could be read as 5 different gauss flayers
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
773 Posts
They would res wherever the rest of the unit is. They will be where the unit is as it fell out the vehicle or if they are inside you would put them inside as well technically. The markers are only meant to be there as a reminder. We normally have troops that are in tanks or whatever put in the corner of the board out the way so we remember who is where and put the markers next to them.
Of course if they fall out, lose enough guys and start running away then the ones who died are still dead and cant res.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,384 Posts
But how do you place them, since you can't put them in coherency with their unit?

Obviously, they just resurrect back into the transport in the real world, but what's the weird rulebook foible for it?
The counters don't need to be in coherency they aren't models, they are merely there as a representation of how many reanimations you need, a bit like some people put bases next to a unit for pain tokens in DE. As I said i found this confusing to begin with because in the We'll be back the models were just put on their side but had to remain in coherency, for Reanimation you just use counters which is a much smoother mechanic.
 

·
Rattlehead
Joined
·
6,741 Posts
The counters don't need to be in coherency they aren't models, they are merely there as a representation of how many reanimations you need, a bit like some people put bases next to a unit for pain tokens in DE. As I said i found this confusing to begin with because in the We'll be back the models were just put on their side but had to remain in coherency, for Reanimation you just use counters which is a much smoother mechanic.
But you have to restore the models in coherency with the unit, yes? No matter what counters you use, you need to place the fallen Necrons in coherency with their unit?

It's a moot point, since nobody will ever argue that you don't resurrect inside the transport.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,384 Posts
But you have to restore the models in coherency with the unit, yes? No matter what counters you use, you need to place the fallen Necrons in coherency with their unit?

It's a moot point, since nobody will ever argue that you don't resurrect inside the transport.
Oh right yes, they just are placed in the transport, in fact I am pretty sure it specifies that anyway
 
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
Top