Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

'Free' HQs and the new Detachments

932 Views 2 Replies 3 Participants Last post by  morfangdakka
This is another rules debate that exploded in another location, and once again I decided to port it over here for a second, third, and 18th opinion.

This one specifically has come from Clan Raukaan, or however you spell it. Games Workshop has stated in their webstore that you CAN still buy the supplement, and that it's still usable, with 'minor tweaks' and 'some things that don't work. The wording for Techmarines suggests that if you take an HQ, you are allowed to take two Techmarines which don't count against your HQ selections.

The currently rampant argument that I'm seeing lately is that even in something like a Gladius, where the exact formation is pretty much written out for you, IH players are saying that Clan Raukaan can take additional Techmarines, because the Captain/Chaplain is an HQ choice, so they're eligible to add more TMs.

My argument is that since it's not a CHOICE, but instead a pre-set selection where you don't get to 'count against your HQ selections', you don't get to take the extra Techmarines.

(honestly, my personal opinion is that since there's no such thing as a techmarine that no longer counts against your HQ slots, that whole thing should be invalidated, but I tend to not fight that one anymore)

These people tend to say that it makes perfect sense that Iron Hands should be able to have more TMs in their detachment, and it doesn't matter that it's a dictated force org, because it's still an HQ. I've countered by saying it's not a Choice, and GW has written rules in the past for when you are refused a choice (such as Chaos Focus and Psychic Focus).

1 - 1 of 3 Posts
1 - 1 of 3 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.