Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
7,003 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've never used these before, always been self conscious when it comes to using them as I'm used to large monsters in normal fantasy getting owned rather quickly and kind of came to uninformed conclusion it was the same in 40k.

So I was wondering whats the best way to use them, I've got a bloodthirster that I've had for a while now but never used and fancy trying it out but I don't know the best way to use them. Should I just have him jump 12" every turn or is it best to fly which I'm not familiar with either.

·
Registered
959 Posts
Much like almost anything in the game, they are often best fielded in multiples. One FMC will get focused down and killed. Having two or more will ensure that at least one or two will survive till they get into combat.

With the changes the the FMC rules, they can no longer charge after switching movement modes, making turn 2 charges much harder. If your FMC is shooty, I'd keep them in the air. As for one that assault, I cannot say. Swooping them turn 1 will keep them safer from enemy shots, but opens them up on turn two as they have to wait till they charge.

·
Registered
3,694 Posts
@The Sturk has it right. Imo, the only viable cc FMC is the nurgle daemon prince. with a 2+ cover save on the jump he can charge unschated in turn 2. the other FMC are now best uset for that even flyby attack and shooting / psyking.

·
Registered
7,003 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Ok thanks, if I did use the bloodthirster then it's better to keep him jumping so he can charge freely right? I'll look into getting a nurgle daemon prince, how come it has 2+ cover?

·
Registered
3,694 Posts
yes, jumping is better altough you will be shot better :laugh: