Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
241 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This situation came up last night and we couldn't decide how to solve it (in the end we just 4+ it to decide).
I charged my friends minotaur unit (which contained his gorebull) in the flank with my ogre ironguts unit (which contained my bruiser). He issued a challenge with his gorebull which I accepted with my bruiser.
This is where the issue arrises. We fought the challenge as normal but when it came to my ironguts hitting his unit he claimed that I couldn't as the challenge was in the way. Is this correct? It seems strange to me that my Ironguts would just stand there when theres 2 minotaurs stood behind the challenge.
This is how the fight looked-

I
IBGMM
I
I=Irongut M=Minotaur
B=Bruiser G=Gorebull

I couldn't find anything in the rulebook that explained this situation so any help is appreciated.
Thanks in advance
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,190 Posts
If I remember correctly, the part about moving models into base-to-base during a challenge is recommended, but not mandatory. You get to attack each other regardless of where the models actually are in their respective units, and it should not reduce the amount of attacks the unit gets.

That's off the top of my head though, could be wrong.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
116 Posts
Sethis is spot on the money. However there is a problem in that your Ironguts (even if the challenge was not declared) could only attack the Gorbull. I don't know if he's a unit champion or a character, as it does make a difference (not read the new beastmen book).

If the Gorbull is a unit champion then you can attack the unit, as the Ironguts were in base contact with the unit before the challenge was declared. If the Gorbull is a character however then you would not be able to, as the only model they were in base contact with is now in a challenge.

Hope this helps
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
324 Posts
Actually, Cap, it doesn't make a difference (though the Gorebull is a hero). The only model the Ironguts are in contact with is in a challenge,even if it is a lowly champion. With the Make Way rule you're likely to see this happen quite often when attacking single rank units. Of course in most cases this is just grasping at straws, since (unless it's a really nasty character) combat res should see the unit off.
 

·
WFB Moderator
Joined
·
8,248 Posts
Im not so sure about that- if challenges are fought first (like they used to be) then if the gorebull died in the challenge the unit steps up, which would allow the other ironguts to hit them... as it is this isnt such an issue if you had something like an I3-4 hero/lord fighting the gorebull: gorebull dies, others step up and then ASL ironguts can attack the unit... if the gorebull survives the challenge then there is nothing the ironguts can do to help sincxe they are only in b2b with someone they cannot hit.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,190 Posts
I thought challenges were done first purely out of convenience, they actually happen in the same initiative order as the rest of the combat round and you remove models at the same time.

But again, I could be wrong.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
324 Posts
Sethis is correct.
 
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
Top