Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey fellow Terrain makers, I'm still pretty new to the game as of the start of the year but I have to admit that one of my favorite parts is making my own terrain. I've lurked on this forum and several others getting ideas and inspiration from you guys and others. Anyways, I just wanted to share some of my own home made terrain and see what people think, get some constructive criticism, and maybe inspire some one else. Thanks!

(sorry for the messy basement in background, I'm going to invest in some cheap backdrops to get better pictures for posting soon)

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 · (Edited)
I also had a turn at making some hills/rocks with that pink insulation foam. My friend and I are writing a campaign that we will used the crystals as a resource gathering objective that will play into the campaign and later missions. Anyways, I used a hot wire cutter and then used Gesso to seal the foam before I primed and painted it. I think they turned out pretty good for a first attempt. There are things I would do differently next time I think, I'm not sure how much I like the one I did on the MDF board... anyways Let me know what ya think and recommendations are always welcome!

*The white layer is the Gesso, then the gray layer is a latex based primer, then finally the paint and some dry brushing. I added bassalt, kitty litter, and sand to give it texture before the primer stage.

**Since these pictures I've gone back and done a lighter dry brush of purple on the crystals and a very light coat of spray glitter on them that really makes them stand out and look more crystal like, maybe I'll take some pics of the finished crystals later.

·
Registered
1,384 Posts