Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
365 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So this is my first attempt to see if i can make a list with all my old models from my Chaos armies from 3rd and 4ed. I proxied the Fiends as the models look awful anyway and I'll get to converting some eventually. I've been slowly bringing all my ten year old armies off the shelf and trying to revamp them for 5ed. I've done Necs and Nids. It's Daemon time now.

Daemons

HQ: 180
Herald of Slaanesh, Chariot, Soporific Musk, Unholy Might (90)

Elites: 570
Fiends of Slaanesh x6, Unholy Might (190)

Troops: 225
Plaguebearers of Nurgle x5 (75)

Fast Attack: 102
Seekers of Slaanesh x6 (102)

Heavy Support: 420
Daemon Prince, Flight, Iron Hide, Noxious Touch, Cloud of Flies, Mark of Nurgle (215)
Daemon Prince, Flight, Iron Hide, Aura of Acquiescence, Soporific Musk, Mark of Slaanesh (205)

Points -1497
KP – 11
Models - 43

So nothing to dramatic here. I'm trying to mitigate the weaknesses of Daemons with a lot of redundancy and I want to have plenty of speed in the list. The Slaanesh will come in the first wave and the all the Nurgle in the second wave.

I figure to bounce my way all over the table using Musk, block advances and then take off and multiple assault any units I can isolate. The DPs are really my best tank killers bit the rest of the list can stop transports with a little luck.

I decided to just use PBs for troops and camp them on objectives. Assaulty troops are nice but might not last the whole game.

So as a new daemons player (lots of 40k experience) am I on the right track?

·
Registered
1,359 Posts
Short answer: Hell yes!
All you really need is something shooty to shut tanks up. Going into CC with them won't always yield the best of results so some shooting would be good. Otherwise it's a very lovely (and somewhat cheesy) list.

But hey, you got speed and sometimes that's all you need :)

·
Registered
365 Posts
Discussion Starter #3