Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok so this is my first attempt at a 1000 point list, and I haven't played since 4th ed so I will do my best :p (Note I have built everything but the marines so I would only like critique on upgrades and what I should build my chaos marine squads with as that is the only thing I can change at this point. Also I can change the weapon options on the vehicles since i built them to be detachable.)

1000 Points Iron Warriors Chaos Space Marines

HQ
lvl 2 chaos sorcerer w/ VOTLW - 90

FAST ATTACK
Helldrake w/ baleflamer - 170

HEAVY SUPPORT
Vindicator w/ siege shield and combi bolter - 135

TROOPS
x10 chaos marines w/ VOTLW, close combat weapons, 2 meltas, and power sword - 205
x10 chaos marines w/ VOTLW, 2 plasma, and power sword - 195

TRANSPORTS
Rhino - 35
Rhino - 35

TOTAL - 1000 pts

Thanks in advance for any advice! Iron within iron without!

·
Registered
3,694 Posts
List can be ok. Just a thing: the sorceror is walking alone. And he is just going to die.
Also, seems pretty useless in this list. I'd rather do this:

HQ
Chaos Lord, Bike, Power Sword, VoTLW - 105

FAST ATTACK
Helldrake w/ baleflamer - 170
3 Bikers, meltagun - 80

HEAVY SUPPORT

TROOPS
A)
x10 chaos marines w/ VOTLW, close combat weapons, 2 meltas, and power sword - 205
B)
x5 chaos marines w/ VOTLW, plasmagun- 95

TRANSPORTS
Rhino A, dirge caster - 40
Rhino B- 35

TOTAL - 1000 pts

This way you have an Hq that might actually do something and get some bodyguards. Also, lots of marines for static firing is not so good and giving a shooty unit a melee weapon is not going to help you a lot.

If you are not going to swap the sorceror, then reduce the Squad B) to 5 marines with a plasmagun and buy the sorceror the burning brand of Skalathrax.
Imo, the 3 bikers should stay anyway. they are just so flexible!

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·