Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 20 of 95 Posts

·
Entropy Fetishist
Joined
·
4,249 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
http://www.blacklibrary.com/faqs-and-errata.html

Editing as I read through and see more things.

7e FAQs have been posted. First glance at the armies important to me show a Heldrake weapon nerf--hull-mounted weapon measuring from the barrel, now. Eh, it's not like it wasn't merited. Also, any Daemons can use Daemonology, down to and including Horrors.

For Nids, Shadows in the Warp isn't touched on. Odd. Tzeentch Daemon +3 on Ld still is useless, too.

As expected, some Psychic Power reworking on a large number of armies. Space Wolves lose their powers entirely, and their runic weapons only give +1 to DTW, now (correct me if I'm wrong--that's the thing that allowed 4+ DTW in 24", right?). Blood Angels also lose their powers.

Apparently the listing of psychic powers available to different armies in the rulebook isn't quite accurate, since a unit is still limited to the options available in their codex. These FAQs have gone through and added Daemonology to most things an given older Marine Dexes an exact listing of which disciplines they can use, but I'm seeing nothing allowing CSM psykers to, say, take divination. Looks like Balestar of Mamon is still worth using...
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,182 Posts
Ork weird boys loose their abilities (which were quite frankly 'shit') and become level 1 deamanoligists. Seems fair.

7e FAQs have been posted. First glance at the armies important to me show a Heldrake weapon nerf--hull-mounted weapon measuring from the barrel, now.
I think I will need to take a look at the CSM codex, just to see what balefire has for rules. I can't seem to recall, but I know its hard to remember sometimes but a Helldrake actually comes with a shooting weapon by default :)
 

·
Entropy Fetishist
Joined
·
4,249 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I think I will need to take a look at the CSM codex, just to see what balefire has for rules.
Torrent AP3, S6 flamer for the baleflamer. Though technically the default weapon is the Hades Autocannon, just 95% of the time people take the free swap.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,182 Posts
Torrent AP3, S6 flamer for the baleflamer. Though technically the default weapon is the Hades Autocannon, just 95% of the time people take the free swap.
Cheers Mossy. So they must target something within 12" inches of the front arc now (unless torrent has changed). Does this also mean they must target a physiccal model within 12", not just place the template and catch something 13" away?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,094 Posts
but I'm seeing nothing allowing CSM psykers to, say, take divination.
Yeah I don't get this at all. What were those leaked photos of the 'new' psychic table? Was that just an elaborate fake? I cannot see anything in the rulebook resembling a table like that...I'm confused.
 

·
JUGGERNUT
Joined
·
2,558 Posts
I found that a lot of the time in 6th, I would vector strike/baleflame, and my rear armor would be exposed.

Now that vector strike got nerfed, I think I'll just stop short and drop the template in front of the drake. Means I'll put a little more thought into drake movement/targets, but I don't think it's the end of the world. Or vector strike through a flyer, hope I kill it, and then drop the template on infantry in front of me, still exposing rear armor.
 

·
Entropy Fetishist
Joined
·
4,249 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 · (Edited)
Cheers Mossy. So they must target something within 12" inches of the front arc now (unless torrent has changed). Does this also mean they must target a physiccal model within 12", not just place the template and catch something 13" away?
I haven't read the new rules for Torrent, but assuming it still works the same way, you have to place the little end of the template within 12" and the big end further away than the little end. Hit what models as ye may, though you probably still have to get as many hits as possible on the primary target unit. Not clear if that has to be in the front-facing arc--I imagine at least the little end of the template has to be in that front arc, though I dunno if the rules address how Torrent works there. Bah, supposition and no access to a copy of my own of the 7e book is getting tiresome.
 

·
Herald of The Warp
Joined
·
2,752 Posts
Yeah I don't get this at all. What were those leaked photos of the 'new' psychic table? Was that just an elaborate fake? I cannot see anything in the rulebook resembling a table like that...I'm confused.
but I'm seeing nothing allowing CSM psykers to, say, take divination. Looks like Balestar of Mamon is still worth using...
It's on the reference card that comes with the psyker powers. Here's a photo I just took of it, for reference.
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
773 Posts
Apparently the listing of psychic powers available to different armies in the rulebook isn't quite accurate, since a unit is still limited to the options available in their codex. These FAQs have gone through and added Daemonology to most things an given older Marine Dexes an exact listing of which disciplines they can use, but I'm seeing nothing allowing CSM psykers to, say, take divination. Looks like Balestar of Mamon is still worth using...
Is there a list? I couldn't see one, the only one I saw were on the psy cards they sold and that said they did... as to space marines (also previously couldn't). Also no clarification on how the spell familiar works... kinda looks like a slap dash run at the codex to just get something out to solve a few minor things, but most just being the old FAQ touched up a little.
 

·
Entropy Fetishist
Joined
·
4,249 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
The thing about that chart is it doesn't change what a codex says about what disciplines any particular unit can draw from. Daemons may have access to Divination, but Nurgle and Slaaneshi Daemons still don't.

The FAQ wave we're in bears this out--they specifically modify what powers units in each Dex can take, mostly blanket adding Daemonology to everything. We still have to obey codex guidelines, so something like Balestar is still the only access any CSM unit can have to Divination--a peculiar reason to include it on that example card, but...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,166 Posts
There's a power listing card in the Psychic deck that does not match these FAQs. For Example Marines getting Checks for all powers. - sniped! Darn.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,385 Posts
Card is only right in terms of what Factions (as CSM get Divination through the CS supplement) can access the powers. Outside of that it's really not that helpful.

So Daemonfactory is still in. Orks went from "roll random powers every turn" to "Perils all the Time" (I wonder if the Mob Rule works for buffing their leadership for Leadership tests if they Perils).

On a different note: goodbye flying Dreadnoughts of the Blood Angels codex. We'll miss you. :cray:

And I'm surprised that Hammerhand stayed on GK units, I'd figured that they would have replaced it completely with Banishment. The more you know, eh?
 

·
Entropy Fetishist
Joined
·
4,249 Posts
Discussion Starter · #17 ·
Shadow in the Warp and Tzeentchi Daemons' +3 Ld are near-totally useless, now. Unless they carry over to Perils Ld checks, which is reasonable to assume, but even if so, they're still faaaaaaaaar less useful than before.

And I'm surprised that Hammerhand stayed on GK units, I'd figured that they would have replaced it completely with Banishment. The more you know, eh?
Well, as they get a focus in that discipline, I imagine that they get Banishment for free, just like as it's a 3 warp charge power, they'l rarely ever use it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
992 Posts
Shadows in the Warp is a blanket -3Ld to a psyker inside the range...this applies to all leadership tests (including perils)...not sure why this seems to be confusing to people and why it is considered "worthless"

Psykers in the shadow will suffer the effects of a perils more often and provide less leadership benefits outside the psychic phase. Still a nice ability.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,195 Posts
Perils isn't a ldr test any more.

Casting powers doesn't use ldr anymore.
 
1 - 20 of 95 Posts
Top