Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,648 Posts
Nightmare Shroud is not a shooting attack, even though it is used in the shooting phase, and so can hit all units in range.
If your units are not fearless then they are affected by the Nightmare Shroud. The good thing is that there can only be 1 per army.

Necrons have ways of teleporting out of CC. If this is done with a Monolith then it also allows WBB to be rolled again for models that failed it at the start of the turn.
These teleporting Necrons move in the movement phase, and so can shoot in the shooting phase of the same turn once they are no longer locked. Phase order in the turn is very important, so learn how the sequence works.

Monstrous Creatures get locked in combat exactly the same way as every other model with a WS.
Some Monstrous Creatures have special rules that let them leave combat under certain conditions. The Nightbringer and the Deceiver both have such rules, the Deceiver can leave combat in his opponents' assault phase, and the Nightbringer can force back weak units.
Monstrous Creatures ignore armour saves in CC, does not matter if it is an infantry model or a Greater Daemon, the C'tan are special and ignore all saves of any kind. The C'tan's save is an invulnerable save, so the Carnifex's attacks won't ignore it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,648 Posts
I still don't quite understand what you mean.

If you mean the Lord using Nightmare Shroud to force a unit to fall back out of CC during the shooting phase, and then everything shooting that falling back unit, then yes: it is allowed.

The same is true for a unit that was inside a transport but was forced to disembark because the transport was destroyed from shooting. Units still to fire that turn can target the unit that had been inside the transport.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,648 Posts
It isn't all that fuzzy. If a unit is not locked then it can shoot.
By your theory, units that have been forced out of a transport should be immune to getting shot that turn in the same way as units that were locked in combat, but this is not the case.
It might not seem very nice, but those are the rules. Learn to use them to your advantage: you get to assault again and get all the bonuses for first turn assaults.
 
1 - 3 of 3 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top