Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
390 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
When a plague tower of nurgle or plaguereaper of nurgle explodes, is Abbadon effected? I say this because in his rules he does not specifically have the MoN but the mark of chaos ascendant which is not covered in the towers rules.:search:
 

·
Great Unclean One
Joined
·
2,611 Posts
posting from work

'Affected' :p

And I would say he is immune, since the Codex specifically says his Mark of Chaos Ascendant includes 'all of the gifts' of the Big Four, i.e. it counts as having all four Marks at once in-game.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,719 Posts
Abbadon does not have a mark of any of the four gods. He has his own special mark that combines attributes of the abilities of the other marks.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,340 Posts
i have to agree with deathklokka as the rules for the plague tower specifically says that
"All Nurgle-aligned models (Those with Mark of Nurgle, Nurgle daemons, etc) are immune to the effects of an Explosion of Filth"
which means that abaddon would be affected as his rules dont say he has mark of nurgle but instead he has the mark of chaos ascendant which means he gains all the benifits of each mark but remains undivided, so he would be affected by the explosion,
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
594 Posts
Hrm. In the description of his mark, it specifically mentions the Mark of Tzeentch:

Because of the Mark of Tzeentch, the invulnerable save provided by his armour is increased to 4+
Note it doesn't say "the effect of MoT", it says it like he has an actual MoT.
While it makes no mention of the other marks, this seems to suggest he does have a real MoT, which would mean he also has a real MoN (and K and S)

I dunno, the wording of the rule seems to imply that he actually has each individual mark, but it doesn't explicitly state it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,340 Posts
no it specifically says has the mark of chaos ascendent, the mark of tzeentch bit is telling the reader he has a 4+ invulnerable save because its not actually written in his profile, while the other benefits are, so it deoesnt mean he actually has the mark of tzeentch as is melded with the other marks, it specifically says that in the wording
"...abaddon has melded the marks of chaos granted to him and now bears a unique mark that combines all of the gifts. because of the mark of tzeentch, the invulnerable save provided by his armor is increased to 4+. The other benefits are included in his profile"
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
8,559 Posts
...The other benefits are included in his profile....
So, technically, I would agree that he does not have the benefit of protection from ickiness granted by the Mark of Nurgle as it does not say he does; so for competitive situation plan for him getting a slight cold.

That said, I would not call my opponent on it if he wanted to treat him as having it.
 
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
Top