Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
231 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok this is probably me being quite dense but I am reading the rules for this and I can't see what it does,

I am quite sure I know what it should do, but the wording within the rules seem to be saying Nothing

Nominate one of your opponent's melee weapons - this is treated as a close combat weapon until the end of the phase.
So basically as I am reading this, it makes a Close Combat Weapon into a Close Combat Weapon?

I am pretty sure that it is meant to mean, "Treat this as the only Close Combat Weapon" or "The Model isn't allowed to use this in Close Combat"

Anyway Help I am Confused more than usual on this one :laugh:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,709 Posts
Disarm is used to take a special weapon and turn it into a close combat weapon. Close combat weapons have a set profile as per page 51 of the BRB that they are S user and AP - Type melee. So, in that case any special CCW that your opponent intended to use immediately gets replaced with that profile for the phase. Pretty handy.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
231 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Styro-J I completly missed that :Laugh: need to kick my brain into gear I think

Maybe I need more Coffee
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
143 Posts
Here is a thought, if your opponent was wielding an unwieldy weapon, by disarming you would potentially be giving them an additional attack! :shok:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,195 Posts
Here is a thought, if your opponent was wielding an unwieldy weapon, by disarming you would potentially be giving them an additional attack! :shok:
:rofl:

Oh well, I would rather take an extra S~4 AP- hit than the alternative.
 

·
Autarch of Heresy
Joined
·
886 Posts
:rofl:

Oh well, I would rather take an extra S~4 AP- hit than the alternative.
I disarmed a Warscythe last week 3 turns in a row, it was glorious.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,825 Posts
Here is a thought, if your opponent was wielding an unwieldy weapon, by disarming you would potentially be giving them an additional attack! :shok:
Unwieldy doesn't reduce the number of attacks. It reduces the Initiative. You're thinking of the rule that makes certain weapons only get an extra attack for dual-wielding the same weapon.

I disarmed a Warscythe last week 3 turns in a row, it was glorious.
That is awesome and certainly what I invision the power being intended for. But we need to watch out for the dual Lightning Claw guys. Disarming one doesn't help much there.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
992 Posts
That is awesome and certainly what I invision the power being intended for. But we need to watch out for the dual Lightning Claw guys. Disarming one doesn't help much there.
Since both weapons have to be specialist weapons to get the +1A, by disarming and leaving the opponent with a CCW and a Specialist weapon they would lose the bonus attack. (This works with any pair of specialist weapons claw/fist for example)
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
6,993 Posts
Since both weapons have to be specialist weapons to get the +1A, by disarming and leaving the opponent with a CCW and a Specialist weapon they would lose the bonus attack. (This works with any pair of specialist weapons claw/fist for example)
True, but I think he's more reffering to the fact that you only need one claw to get the rerolls. Having two, and then that being reduced to one in this case would be unable to prevent that.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,825 Posts
True, but I think he's more reffering to the fact that you only need one claw to get the rerolls. Having two, and then that being reduced to one in this case would be unable to prevent that.
That is indeed what I was talking about. Not to mention, one Lightning Claw will still go through Heavy Aspect Armour.
 
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
Top