Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2,363 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ugh so, I'm doing A-level English Literature, and finding it very tough indeed, Here's the 3 Books i'm studying;

King Lear
The Great Gatsby
The Kite Runner

Does anyone here know anything of those books, and give me a helping hand in understanding them?! (King Lear especially!!!)

Thanks,

ROT out.

·
Registered
2,628 Posts
I've just started A-Level English Literature and Language too:victory:

But... with two disgustingly sensual A*'s at GCSE under my rather delectible belt, I'm finding it challenging but erstwhile... That is correct my dear Reign of Terror... I just had to boast...

Anyway, we are studying Property, set during the Amercain Colonisation/Slavery of the 1840's within the ''Deep South'' and a play whose rather boring name has skipped my mind, which is far more centered around Bleach, Lord of the Night and Toast... So... no, I can't help, sorry...

Anyway -honestly- the best of luck to you in the future :so_happy:

·
Dazed and confused.
8,496 Posts
I did King Lear for my leaving cert (A level equivilant I think) and while Shakespeare is a real pain in the ass when you have to study him, later you'll realise just how good the story actually is.

Think of the character of King Lear in a 40k sense. A monarch betrayed by some of his children ( for Goneril and Regan see Horus and Mortarion), with a few who stay loyal ( for Cordelia, Gloucester and Edgar see Dorn, Russ and Sanguinius), one even staying loyal despite being seen as a traitor ( for Kent see Magnus(sort of)). For Albany see Lion'el Jonson, a man possibly starting on the wrong side, but sees the error of his ways.

The more I think about it, the more I realise just how many parallels there are between 40k and King Lear.

·
Registered
78 Posts