Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
309 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK I am playing EL and I am up against SM what is the best way to pop Land raider and Terminator armour?

·
Registered
388 Posts
I'm no expert on playing Eldar, but I've read the codex and have an idea of what sounds kinda scary to my Chaos Marines.

Bright Lances are nice for taking out Land Raiders. Big tough vehicle suddenly only counts as Armor 12.

As for terminators, banshees are pretty good for that. My usual Nurgle termies aren't that scared, since they would only be wounded on 6s, but since normal SMs haven't wised up and sided with the Dark Gods, banshees can wound them on 5s. That doesn't sound terribly impressive, but bring a Farseer with them with the Doom power and the rerolls can make a pretty big difference. I don't remember which Banshee exarch weapon boosts its Str, but giving him that can help a lot too.

Meanwhile, Fire Dragons and Wraithguard are pretty good at both, as long as they can stay out of cc with the terminators. Try softening them up with Banshees, then if they win they'll hopefully have taken enough losses that Fire Dragons of Wraithguard can shoot the rest down. Wraithlords are cool too, since they can take Bright Lances and get through terminator armor in cc.

·
Registered
5,539 Posts
Contrary to popular belief bright lances really aren't spectacular at knocking out heavy tanks. For both Terminators and Land Raiders I'd suggest units of Fire Dragons. Terminators are easy to melt with melta weapons and Land Raiders go boom very easily as well. If possible, try to set up a one-two punch where you can knock out the Land Raider and then deal with the Terminators inside in the same turn.

·
Registered
309 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks I didn't really want to take 2 different units now I can take 2 units of Fire dragons.

·
Registered
68 Posts