Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
358 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i know this is probs a why to screw with us eldar but with the santic powers not in the codex do u think they will faq that they dont perils on any double

since anyone can take that lore putting it in the codex for what reason ?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,694 Posts
well.. same reason why chaos marines can take malefic but still perils on double. Can't see much to add.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
358 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
ya but they have ways to make it ok like the crimson slaughter making him a daemon + the fast the chaos codex is very out of date
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,694 Posts
Anyway, there is the answer. Unless otherwise stated, they can use it, but perils on double like everyone else.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
358 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
well when it says in a codex what lore's you can take it means you can take them and use yet only daemons get malific and they can use fine , GK's can take santic and its fine . yet in the eldar codex it say they can use santic too so why its if 1 of there chooses would get suffer from it
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,694 Posts
hey, if you want to use it without "double peril", just ask your opponent if he's good, or houserule the thing. I'd be good with that. Just don't try to make it look like it's from RAW :)
It's so simple that i can't explain it better. Read the sanctic box on the BRB and then look for rules in CWEldar that tells you dey do NOT "double peril".
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
522 Posts
I'm struggling to understand your problem. Does it state in CWEldar that they never peril on a double? Because codex trumps rules. If it doesn't state that eldar never peril on a double, then they are the same as every other army.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,694 Posts
jeez... rule book says that, unless specified, everyone but Grey knight perils on double when casting sanctic.
The eldar codex says you can use sanctic. That's it. Nowhere it does specifies that they do not peril on doubles.
So, rulebook says a thing, codex do not contradict it, and eldar perils on double.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
117 Posts
I think that the issue comes from the fact that "Daemonology (Sanctic)" is specified within psyker entries of the Eldar (Craftworlds and Arlequins) Codices, as the basic rules already allow every army to use both sides of Daemonology (with two exceptions for Grey Knights and Daemons who have access to only one side of it without perils on non-6 doubles).

According to loki619, this could mean that Eldars would not peril on non-6 doubles too. But there is nothing into the rules telling (or even opening the door of interpretation to) that.

We could however argue about the possibility for Eldars to use Malefic Daemonology powers : the basic rules state that "Unless otherwise stated, all Psykers, other than those belonging to the Tyranids Faction, can generate powers from the Daemonology discipline. The Daemonology discipline has not one, but two different sets of powers, one labelled 'Sanctic' and one labelled 'Malefic'. Each time a Psyker generates a power from the Daemonology discipline he can choose to generate it from either the Sanctic or Malefic set of powers. For the purposes of Psychic Focus, the Sanctic and Malefic sets of powers are different psychic disciplines."

RAW speaking, the "Daemonology (Sanctic)" discipline specified for psykers of the Eldar Codices is just redundant (as it is already allowed by the rules for Sanctic and Malefic).

Fluffy speaking, making Eldars conjure Daemons is not a heresy. It's worse than that : something that could make the Universe crumble :D

What could be arguable is the following : would the specification of "Daemonology (Sanctic)" on a psyker entry match the "unless otherwise stated" of the rules ?

In that case, it would be some kind of (welcomed, according to me) restriction for the Eldar psykers. But it has nothing to do with the exceptions for perils, which are linked to a specific Codex (Grey Knights) or a trait (Daemon).
 

·
Rattlehead
Joined
·
6,741 Posts
The rule that Daemonology can be used by any faction is to accomodate for some factions still having 6th edition army books. If you have a 7th edition Codex, and it doesn't give you the option to roll on either Daemonology tree, then you cannot roll on that Daemonology tree (for example, Eldar can roll on Sanctic, but not on Malefic). If you have a 6th edition Codex, you can take either Daemonology tree without issue.

This is covered by the 'Codex trumps Rulebook' rules - Farseers explicitly must generate their Psychic Powers from the Fate, Divination, Telepathy and Santic Daemonology tables. Therefore, you cannot roll on Malefic, as your Codex doesn't let you and that restriction overrides the rulebook's permission.

Therefore, to recap; Eldar can use Sanctic (because their Codex explicitly states that they can), still Peril on any doubles (because they have no rule to the contrary, and they cannot use Malefic Daemonology (because their Codex' restriction overrules the rulebook's permission).
 
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
Top