Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! I'm new to both 40K and this forum, and so I'm looking for advice when building my first army. I'm a big fan of Dawn of War, and recently my girlfriend, who used to play 40K years ago, decided to get back into it and I'm joining her.

So, what I'm going for is an army that will be competitive with hers, but that would also be suitable for general play with other unknown armies. We're probably going to play in a league starting in late March, so I'm trying to build something that's flexible and competitive. She plays a Tyranid swarm army and is very fond of hormagaunt rushes and and multiple scary big bugs such as winged hive tyrants and carnefexes.

So here's my plan. How could I improve on this? Note that I'm not really familiar with the main rulebook yet, so I might have pretty basic questions.

HQ-

Jain Zar 190 pts

Elites-

Harlequins x 10, 9 kisses, Shadowseer 246 pts

Troops

Dire Avengers x10, Exarch with 2 Shur Cannons, Bladestorm 152 pts

Dire Avengers x10, Exarch, Defend, and Bladestorm 162 pts
Fast Attack

Vyper Squadron x3, with Starcannons 210 pts

Transport

Wave Serpents x2, upgraded to shur cannon, twin-linked shur cannons 220 pts

Heavy

Fire Prisms x2, holofields, Spirit stones 320 pts

Total Points- 1500

I'm going to paint everything in Harlequin colors and basically play very offensively. Will this work?

·
Registered
202 Posts
I would lose one of the Fire Prims (and thats saying alot cause I love those things) in exchange for more troops. How about a full squad of Guardians with a Bright Lance platform?

The one major thing I see wrong with this is the lack of anti-tank. Well that and the 3 squads of infantry.

At 1500pts 3 Vypers might be to many points.

I would also lose the wave serpents, you could use those points for a couple small jet bike squads or some Rangers.