Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
117 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

Im very new to warhammer 40k but so far im loving it. My space marine army is getting slowly tuned in and ive actually won a couple low point matches against my friends. Im using just the regular space marine codex and im wondering what the best/ most efficent dreadnought and loadout would be for my army.

Im rocking a shooty army at the moment. Meltas, plasma, heavy bolters, lascannons and such.

So which should it be and equipped with what?

Reg Dreadnought?
Ironclad?
Venerable?

Thanks for the help guys!
Cold86

·
Registered
1,189 Posts
depends

Disposable Dread? = normal Dread

Dread that is going to stick around and shoot things to death? = Ven dread

Dread that is going to stick around and bitchslap things to death? = Clad Dread

·
Registered
594 Posts
One of my favorite tactics is a basic Dread with a Drop Pod. Deep Strike that sucker for a free Multi-Melta shot at rear armour. Cheap and effective tank killing unit that could do some serious damage if they don't kill it fast.

·
Registered
4,083 Posts
as those above me said.

normal Dread is usually a Multi Melta, Heavy flamer Drop pod style model get in the rear of the enemy tanks or nice setup for heavy flamer and do some damage. Disposable after inital attack most times.

Ven dreads make good long range Artillery walkers. this usually means double auto cannon / auto cannon las cannon, etc setup. Designed to shoot from a distance, the Venerable helps it live so it can continue to onslaught from a distance.

Iron Clad make excellent close combat units.

·
Registered
454 Posts
It certainly depends. I usually field my Dreads with TLLC and ML, for armour hate. Then again I play GKs and this kind of dreads are the ones that complement my army.