Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Slave to Heresy!
8,803 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does this exist?

If so, who owns it? Do you? Does someone else? If it does exist - how come you can't remember it before your stint as a human?

I'm skeptical - we live, we die. GG.

But what about you?

·
Registered
4,277 Posts
I never believed in a soul and never will. Fact is the soul and mind more or less define the same cthing, and as a neuro psych student I have seen how destruction of brain tissue directly effects peoples mental capabilities and identity. Keeping this in mind I see little evidence to support a eternal none physical soul. One may exist, but almost by definition its impossible to observe so its a worthless concept to me.

·
Registered
2,007 Posts
Fact is the soul and mind more or less define the same cthing, and as a neuro psych student I have seen how destruction of brain tissue directly effects peoples mental capabilities and identity.
That's pretty much why I don't believe in an 'eternal soul'. Having a family member with dementia has killed that little bit of fantasy for me.

When your brain stops functioning you cease to exist, it's as simple as that.

·
Registered
3,232 Posts
I certainly don't believe in a soul as any mainstream religion defines it. As said by others here, you see how brain damage changes a person drastically, so if the soul concept was true, they'd still be the same person, just with handicaps.

That said... we know the brain, which is essentially us, is a collection of electrical impulses at a basic level, and energy cannot be created or destroyed, it always exists in one form or another in potential....

Therefore, while we may not have a soul with memories, I'd like to think that we have got something akin to a soul in that being a life force. An energy that is a part of us and will exist still after we've gone.

If that can be classed as a soul, then yes. I believe in one.

·
Registered